Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 364212 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Sebastian82

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1200 on: March 12, 2022, 06:10:29 pm »
Hi,
both cams are new, in their original package. I even factory reset the first one that made so much trouble.
Maybe I will check it again tomorrow but what I definetly can say is that for both cams (hardware 2.0L and 3.16 firmware) only the resolution hack works, which is fine for me :)
 

Offline Sebastian82

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1201 on: March 27, 2022, 10:41:05 am »
Hey all!
I just got a FLIR E6 from a friend, its the Hardware: E6xt 2.1L and Software: 3.16
I can activate RNDIS, reboot the PC, find the IP with IPCONFIG/ALL and its identical to the E4
192.168.0.2
If I try to access with FileZilla I get an error message.
Anyone ever hacked a FLIR E6? I just want to get access to the conf.cfc and change resolution and cancel artifical noise.
Thanks and have a nice sunday!
 

Offline korrado77

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: it
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1202 on: April 08, 2022, 07:41:09 pm »
Hello everyone!
I have a FLIR E5, modified in 2017 (many thanks to whoever created this possibility). Today I went back to see if there are any updates, I read a lot in the various treads and in the end I didn't understand anything  :palm:
I have the E5 1.2 L model and firmware mod 2.11, if I remember correctly I have changed the resolution and menu ... I still have the backup.
What procedure should I follow now?

sorry but I'm overly confused and can't find where the most recent files are indicated
 

Offline Sebastian82

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1203 on: April 09, 2022, 04:54:14 am »
Hi,
if you have hacked it for better geometric and thermographic resolution (removed artificial thermographic noise) why do you want to update it at all? If it is working, you could leave it as it is.
If you want to update it, you would have to copy the original files on your E5, then connect it to your computer via USB, update the software and/or firmware with FLIR Tools and then you would have to hack it again.
You can either look for the latest files (but it depends on what update your FLIR gets) or you simply go for the conf-file, download it from your cam, decrypt it, manually increase geometric and thermographic resolution, encrypt it again and copy it back!
Greets
 

Offline korrado77

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: it
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1204 on: April 10, 2022, 07:10:46 am »
Hi Sebastian,
well they add for the same reason as updates, improvements. If I have read correctly among the thousand posts, but maybe I'm wrong, there should be some.
Anyway, for now I try to download the files and read what exactly I changed a while ago.
Thanks
 

Offline bilok

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: pl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1205 on: April 14, 2022, 01:44:09 pm »
Thank you Bud for your work :-+
I have finished christmas pack  https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1336326/#msg1336326
+ some toolbars via https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg2914600/#msg2914600  provided by abakis (thanks too)

At the end of the day all seems to work beside measurement toolbars. Belowe image how it looks like now. I thought that by "navigate" toolbar as in image toolbar-config2.jpg there will be 3spot and other icons. Someone know where i made mistake?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5873
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1206 on: April 14, 2022, 07:54:27 pm »
It has been a while but i recall that menu options in toolbar-config are context dependent. If you have something put in it does not mean they will appear in the menu. It depends on the active features. Specifically, when you have user presets, that takes some other menu options away, which seems what you are seeing and which is in-line with abakis's post you referenced.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 
The following users thanked this post: KD0CAC John

Offline bilok

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: pl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1207 on: April 15, 2022, 08:56:01 am »
Thanks, I removed these changes and personalized two user presets according to my requirements. One more time, Thanks Bud for your contribution :clap:
 

Offline tcq1000

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1208 on: April 23, 2022, 11:42:42 am »
There is a strange phenomenon today!

FLIR E4 2.0L 3.16, according to the same operation method as before, common is found_ dll. After DLL replacement, the progress bar is very slow, even if it is 100%, it still cannot successfully enter the working screen.

Restore backup common_ dll. DLL can work normally after repeated many times. The results are the same. It is still the same to restore the factory settings and try again.

This system version 3.16 was purchased, but I didn't upgrade it.

The following attachments are the original attachments and the common I exported from this E4_ dll. DLL, who can help me see.

thank!
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5873
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1209 on: April 23, 2022, 02:18:04 pm »
You have to follow the process, it is not simply replacing the dll, there are other files and actions involved.
« Last Edit: April 23, 2022, 08:11:04 pm by Bud »
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline tcq1000

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1210 on: April 26, 2022, 01:10:52 am »
 E4 2.0L 3.16
has been tried for many times. As long as the common_dll.dll is replaced, it will be stuck in the progress bar. I operate step by step according to the tutorial. Before that, I successfully cracked an E4 and replaced it back to the original one, which can work normally. Will the common_dll.dll of 3.16 be incompatible?
Look, Shifu has released 3.9, but I have tried to update it with tools for many times and still remind me that 3.16 is the latest version
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5873
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1211 on: April 26, 2022, 01:24:03 am »
Who is Shifu?
You can't update modified cameras.
Make sure you do not have copies of original files left on the camera when you perform modification.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline tcq1000

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1212 on: April 26, 2022, 08:49:06 am »
Sorry, my English is not good. I use the translation software.
I tried to update it after restoring the original file, deleting the copied copy and restoring it to USB mode with FIF. I tried to update it with Tools. it was detected that 3.16 is the latest version. Can you detect version 3.9? Can I update it offline?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5873
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1213 on: April 27, 2022, 11:27:16 pm »
I am not sure what you mean by "detect version 3.9". Nothing is detected automatically, you have to know the version of the firmware your camera is running, and use the matching modified dll.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 
The following users thanked this post: KD0CAC John

Offline Schodoodles

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1214 on: May 20, 2022, 01:46:34 pm »
Just used this method to perform the hack/update on an E4 2.0L running 3.16.0 I got second hand but had some issues despite reading/following here. I registered purely to give thanks and add a few helpful tips as this took me far longer than expected and I like to think I'm on the better end of the less clueless side!

Side note here that this worked on a Win 10 x64 machine running Python 2.7.18. Win Xp etc not needed.
I pretty much followed Sebastian82's step by step guide to doing this grabbing the 3.12 basic and advanced files but using the common_dll.dll he attached to his message. Link: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg4044625/#msg4044625

My only change to this was the way I ended up pushing the files to the camera itself. On my way to try to revert and try again from my initial backup I noticed it essentially directed you to soft-power off and then reconnect with a new anonymous user - I pushed the edited v3.16 DLL and .CFC files and hard rebooted the camera from there and then it booted with all menu options enabled and the camera in the higher res settings enabled. I'm guessing that there is a file lock held while fully powered on despite a reported 'successful' copy and this seemed to get around that.

Reset Instructions with the alternative file access options were found here: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1336326/#msg1336326

@Sebastian82 - Did you want to give this amended method a try on your 1st camera that didn't update properly and see if that works for you too?
Hope that helps!
 

Offline Ottoch

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: pa
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1215 on: June 01, 2022, 01:58:23 am »
Hello, are 2.0 HW and 3.16 FW  the latest versions when buying a new Flir E4?
 

Offline tcq1000

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1216 on: June 01, 2022, 02:34:22 am »
3.16 is the latest version of E4. You can check it online using Tools.
 

Offline swperk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1217 on: June 15, 2022, 05:08:16 pm »
I just got my "modified" E4 out of storage and see that it has firmware version 1.19.8. A few questions, if I may:

Can I update the firmware without losing the "modifications?"
If not, is there a way to re-implement them with the latest firmware (3.16)?
Mine is an older E4, bought in 2014. Can I use the latest firmware?
I can't seem to find a list of firmware features. What are the significant improvements with the newest firmware over what I already have?

Thanks,
Stan
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12360
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1218 on: June 15, 2022, 05:23:31 pm »
To be aware….

Firmware version 1.19 predates all attempts by FLIR to block the upgrade so may be considered the most ‘modification friendly’ release.

Version 1.19 is stable and works very well with the E4 hardware with no bugs that need fixing with an update

Version 1.19 contains a full service menu that enables a user to update the dead pixel map if a new dead pixel occurs. Calibration is also possible. Later versions of firmware had the service menu features removed. IMHO, that is a significant loss.

Think very carefully before taking a step into the mess that was FLIR’s attempts to prevent the upgrade in later firmware versions. For me V1.19 was the purest firmware with most potential for reconfiguration.. saying that, Bud has done an excellent job creating the upgrade for the latest firmware releases. You still do not have the ease of access to the configuration or the invaluable service menu facilities though.

As someone at FLIR once told me “we got it right with version 1.19 and the later versions are just housekeeping and countermeasures to an upgrade”. I seem to remember that a USB streaming function appeared in the later firmware but I am uncertain if this works with the older hardware platform that you have.

Fraser
« Last Edit: June 15, 2022, 05:26:31 pm by Fraser »
 
The following users thanked this post: KD0CAC John

Offline swperk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 89
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1219 on: June 15, 2022, 05:32:37 pm »
Thanks for that great info! I think I'll be leaving well enough alone.

Stan
 

Offline KD0CAC John

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1220 on: June 15, 2022, 05:48:19 pm »
Bought a used once for roof leak in a hot rod warehouse E4 WIFI 13.3.0 , he left out the charger - I charge with USB at this time .
Would like to find a charger stand & battery holder [ have lots of 18650s ] but everyplace I find the cost is too much ?
     Main question with the last couple of post , reverting to 1.9 , have not modded yet , have downloaded Buds info , but computers & do not seem to get along , so have held off on the mod ? 
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 12360
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Threadegers
« Reply #1221 on: June 15, 2022, 08:01:38 pm »
Have you considered using one of the many “Universal” Li-Ion chargers that are available ? I own many of these useful chargers and have used them to charge all manner of Li-Ion batteries, including the Ex series battery. They are smart little units that auto detect battery contact polarity so you cannot get the polarity wrong  :-+ The charging management is as good as you will find in most OEM chargers as a modern Li-Ion/Ni-Mh charge management IC is used. Obviously you do get varying qualities of these chargers on the market and the safety aspects of the power supply needs to be considered, just as with buying inexpensive power supplies.

Look for “Universal charger” and you can decide if they meet your needs  :)

How to use the charger……

1. Set the adjustable contact distance to that needed for the battery.

2. Switch on the charger

3. Place the battery in the charging ‘bay’ and allow the spring loaded clamp to secure it in place.

4. Wait for the charger to indicate full charge on the display and remove battery  :-+

2-Power make a decent universal charger. I own a couple of them.

https://2-power.com/retail/universal-battery-chargers/

Datasheet…

https://2-power.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/universal-battery-chargers.pdf

I have several Hahnel Unipal Plus Universal Chargers that can charge from a mains power pack or car cigar lighter socket adapter (both supplied). They are great little chargers and I like the positive feel and accurate adjustment of the contact position system that uses helical drive rods and thumb wheels. These have thin blade type contacts for batteries with the narrow enclosed slot type contact design. This is not an issue with the open type contacts of the Ex series battery though.

https://www.farnell.com/datasheets/3680335.pdf


Regarding making a Ex series compatible battery holder to take a 18650 cell…… I think you will need to design your own as I do not recall such a product being available or even a 3D printable design. The battery is simple with only normal cell protection and no gas gauge so you could copy it without drama, but 3D printing is likely the way to do it.
« Last Edit: June 15, 2022, 10:08:05 pm by Fraser »
 

Offline KD0CAC John

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 695
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1222 on: June 16, 2022, 12:41:32 am »
What about downgrading 13.3.0 to 19 ?
 

Offline tcq1000

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 15
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1223 on: June 16, 2022, 01:40:06 am »
After flie E4 is cracked, what happens if you upgrade the system firmware without restoring the files?

If you need to upgrade firmware, what should you do before upgrading?

After cracking, if the firmware is accidentally upgraded, resulting in system crash, can I restore it with a backup file?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 5873
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1224 on: June 16, 2022, 04:07:29 am »
If you upgrade without restoring the stock firmware, there is risk to brick the device. There was a reason for the boot screen warning message.

If upgraded accidentally, you may or may not be able to roll back, it will depend on the new version, not possible to tell.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf

 



Advertise on the EEVblog Forum