Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 454129 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1250 on: November 27, 2022, 03:27:33 am »
I used the link but frankly I am not sure when I can dig into it, maybe around Christmas when I have time. My knowledge has faded out.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline c00kemon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: ru
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1251 on: November 27, 2022, 05:28:21 am »
I mean, the central crosshair preset file can be taken from there.  And about another question, for which I gave you access to the backup, I understand perfectly, but I believe that maybe you will find something interesting in your research.😊
 

Offline Odd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: no
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1252 on: December 03, 2022, 08:39:27 pm »
Ouch ..this is a long thread with information all over.
I wish to improve E4 2.0L   with software 3.16.0

So far, I think I am supposed to use:
common_dll_3.16.zip
Basic_3.12.0.zip
Advanced_3.12.0.zip

The "Basic readme" starts with "DO  NOT USE THIS PACKAGE FOR FIRMWARE OTHER THAN 3.12.0 OR CAMERAS OTHER THAN E4 2.0L"
so ..a bit contradicting.

Anyone knows if the very old python 2.7 is actually required? 
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1253 on: December 03, 2022, 09:41:48 pm »
You can use 3.16 dll with 3.12 packages.
You need python 2.7 if i remember correctly.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline Odd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: no
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1254 on: December 03, 2022, 10:57:47 pm »
I just upgraded to the basic package.. and MSX option is just grayed out. I do not see any data from the daylight camera.
If I assign the custom button to toggle cameras, both work.
If I assign the custom key to toggle between Thermal and Thermal MSX .. I see only thermal anyway.

Another strange thing is that the "Measurement of center spot" does not work anymore, the icon lets me change it, but there is no measurement/temperature like before.
The second strange thing is that the JPEG I took before the upgrade, is stored as 320x280 ...same as the jpeg after the upgrade...   Maybe the camera was upgraded before? - I certainly did not see any of the new menus or LUC's.
« Last Edit: December 03, 2022, 11:01:24 pm by Odd »
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1255 on: December 04, 2022, 06:05:06 am »
This is the classic symptoms of the config file not loading, likely because the procedure was performed incorrectly. The two common mistakes are using the camera serial number instead of SUID, and having two config files-the old one and new one. The old config must be deleted from the camera.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline Odd

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 46
  • Country: no
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1256 on: December 04, 2022, 08:40:40 am »
of course, you are right :)
I inserted SUID instead of serial number into the conf.cfg file.
Thank you.
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1257 on: December 04, 2022, 03:36:42 pm »
That was a variation of the first mistake  :D . Usually users put the serial number instead of SUID into the python config encryption step.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline tcq1000

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1258 on: January 12, 2023, 05:56:51 am »
There is a problem. The equipment is FLIR E4 2.0L 3.16. The three points for temperature measurement after HACK are SP1、SP2、SP3 instead of Hot、 Cold , What is the problem?

Resolution and palette HACK are completed normally
 

Offline comtec

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1259 on: January 14, 2023, 03:49:49 pm »
Hi all

I have a standard E4 1.2L running software 2.11

Is it best to update to latest FW or apply hack as is ?

Cheers
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1260 on: January 14, 2023, 03:56:50 pm »
Modification packages are only available up to v3.16.

Edit: you should Not perform updates after installing the mod. Updates replace critical files and you may end up with a brick. If you want to update a modded unit you should first roll back the mod.
« Last Edit: January 14, 2023, 09:53:39 pm by Bud »
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 
The following users thanked this post: KD0CAC John, comtec

Offline poussi_pousse

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: fr
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1261 on: January 15, 2023, 12:56:27 pm »
Hi all,

I received yesterday a brand new E4 (2.0L 3.16.0) from Flir and updated it right away !

The quality is far better but the MSX feature is very impressive even with the original 80x60. The main difference is that you can use the thermal mode only and see (almost) everything.

I use Windows 7 (32bit) on bootcamp (MBP 2012) and it works perfectly. The telnet program didn't ask me username or password. But Filezilla only works with anonymous / NcFTP@. Python didn't work with C: files, I used an external drive E: (permission problem).

I only installed "Basic" package, I don't think the step 16 is very useful, except for the new color paterns.

Anyway, I just wanted to thank Bud and all the others for making this upgrade.  :clap:

 
 

Offline comtec

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1262 on: January 15, 2023, 01:30:57 pm »
I have been doing some reading on this thread.

Updated camera to 3.16

Have managed to connect to camera and backup all the files.

Before i proceed any further, can someone confirm the basic pack is compatible with hardware 1.2L (mentions 2.0 only)

The modified conf file looks quite a bit different from the one in the camera..

Thanks
 

Offline comtec

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1263 on: January 18, 2023, 05:12:02 pm »
I have update my E4 with basic and advanced pack.
All functions work ok, but added features have no icon, just blank, but can be selected.
Is there a way to get these working ?
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1264 on: January 18, 2023, 06:07:46 pm »
Hi all,

I received yesterday a brand new E4 (2.0L 3.16.0) from Flir and updated it right away !

The quality is far better but the MSX feature is very impressive even with the original 80x60. The main difference is that you can use the thermal mode only and see (almost) everything.
Does not look updated to me based on the pics you posted. There should be no logo in the bottom left corner.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline KD0CAC John

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 707
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1265 on: January 18, 2023, 11:25:21 pm »
What Flir does not get any credit --- when we hack the camera ;) ;)
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1266 on: January 19, 2023, 01:10:19 am »
I have update my E4 with basic and advanced pack.
All functions work ok, but added features have no icon, just blank, but can be selected.
Is there a way to get these working ?

Check that you replaced facet.rcc file in /FlashBFS/System/u.id folder. New icons are in that file. You can check the timestamp or the file size should be ~900KB.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline Orv

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1267 on: January 23, 2023, 03:58:55 am »
Hello all! This is my first post on the forum. I just want to say thanks for all involved with this project. Everything worked like a charm.

I have one question, I somehow skipped over the 3.12 liberation package. I hacked the 3.16 firmware with the original Basic 3.9 package. Would there be any reason for me to restore/recover my device back to the original and install the 3.12 liberation package instead?

*****EDIT***** I went ahead and did it. No noticeable changes, but at least I'm with the program. Thanks again Bud and everyone!
« Last Edit: January 24, 2023, 01:09:56 am by Orv »
 

Offline poussi_pousse

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: fr
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1268 on: January 23, 2023, 04:57:42 pm »
Does not look updated to me based on the pics you posted. There should be no logo in the bottom left corner.

Your right, I made the pictures before the last steps. This is what you get : a nice before and after :  :)
 
The following users thanked this post: odessa, Bud

Offline someguy2023

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1269 on: January 27, 2023, 12:54:03 pm »
Hello everyone!

First off want to thank all the people involved in putting this whole process together. Really cool for it to be out here for everyone to enjoy.

Now onto why I'm here. Attempted to hack my Flir E5 Wifi v3.16 (as some others have done sucessfully). Couldnt get the RNDIS mode to work so decided to take the wifi route to do the hack.

Everything went super smooth, until it came time to do the cold start and I got stuck on the Logo screen for startup. Realized my mistake almost instantly... used the 3.12 dll instead of the 3.16 dll that was on a different post.  |O

Currently looking like a bricked camera unless anyone has any ideas?

I've attempted getting back into the camera via the recovery method. Computer doesn't recognize that the camera is even plugged in via the USB port. Can't seem to get flirinstaller to pick it up either.

If the answer is that this thing is bricked I'm not too worried (bought used pretty cheap so my investment is pretty low) so don't be afraid to just break the bad news haha.

Thanks ahead for any time spent helping me out.
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1270 on: January 27, 2023, 07:39:58 pm »
These puppies are hard to kill. You likely doing something incorrectly. Do you have Flir device drivers installed? To eliminate some variables, get a machine or virtual machine with WinXP, intstall Flir device drivers and Flir Tools. That should give you USB access. Then you can run the recovery procedure.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 
The following users thanked this post: KD0CAC John

Offline saqibshafiqss

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1271 on: January 29, 2023, 10:52:55 am »
Did the basic & advanced hack, resolutions and menu on my flir E6 2.0 Wi-Fi 3.9.0 using windows 11 on a newer laptop and works perfectly fine, took a whole day as im a complete beginner and there was some issues but figured it out eventually. Thanks to everyone responsible and the rest of this community for this hack.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2023, 12:21:23 pm by saqibshafiqss »
 
The following users thanked this post: KD0CAC John

Offline Tolek

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: pl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1272 on: January 30, 2023, 09:04:33 pm »
There is a problem. The equipment is FLIR E4 2.0L 3.16. The three points for temperature measurement after HACK are SP1、SP2、SP3 instead of Hot、 Cold , What is the problem?

Resolution and palette HACK are completed normally
I have the same issue... Do you have solution?
 

Offline someguy2023

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1273 on: January 31, 2023, 02:29:08 pm »
Got it all fixed up. Plugged it into a WinXP laptop after getting all the software installed and got back into it. Thanks Everyone!
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 6952
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #1274 on: January 31, 2023, 02:44:32 pm »
There is a problem. The equipment is FLIR E4 2.0L 3.16. The three points for temperature measurement after HACK are SP1、SP2、SP3 instead of Hot、 Cold , What is the problem?

Resolution and palette HACK are completed normally
I have the same issue... Do you have solution?
Just replace the 3 point preset with the original one from your backup. ( You backed up your camera before the change, didn't you?)
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf