Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 83640 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #600 on: February 27, 2018, 01:50:56 pm »
Hey Bud, question about the USB mode on the E4 "hidden" menu (if you go to Device settings>Camera information and then hold the right button for a few seconds) the USB mode menu shows several options to choose from UVC, MSD, RNDIS, and several combinations of the above. However on my camera E4 wifi, the selected mode is UVC+MSD and it won't allow me to choose another setting, like RNDIS or RNDIS+UVC+MSD, etc. any idea why ?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #601 on: February 27, 2018, 01:55:52 pm »
Yes, the manufacturer deactivated that menu long time ago. You cant use it.
 

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #602 on: February 27, 2018, 01:59:27 pm »
Yes, the manufacturer deactivated that menu long time ago. You cant use it.

Any way to restore it ?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #603 on: February 27, 2018, 04:23:10 pm »
Not as i know of. Other people tried too. It is not a big deal, once the camera is set up it is not needed to switch between access modes.
 

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #604 on: February 27, 2018, 04:30:55 pm »
I just thought it'd be cool if you could do RNDIS and all the other modes all together simply by plugging the USB without having to run the fif file. Since the camera by wifi connection does the 3 functions right away, why USB wouldn't be able to do it too ?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #605 on: February 28, 2018, 12:17:10 am »
Sorry which functions?
 

Offline tetsusya

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: it
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #606 on: February 28, 2018, 12:18:18 pm »
I've Flir E4 v3.9.0 without Wi-Fi.

I've switched to RNDIS using the http://fubar.gr/hacking-the-flir-e4/ and using the "Set_RNDIS_permament.fif" file.

I've followed the post "Basic update package for E4 2.0L WiFi fw v3.9.0"
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1336326/#msg1336326
and applied the resolution and menu hack, the hack was apparently working.
But after powering up the Flir E4 I had a problem, the second submenu for choosing the type of images (MSX, camera, thermo, etc...) was disabled and i was stuck with only plain thermographic images.
I tried to revert all change by using the backup but now the Flir E4 initially seems to boot normally but it got stuck in the second half of the booting process when the blue bar is completing.
The blue bar seems to grow very slowly to the right but even after 30 minutes it still here.

I've still ftp access to the Flir E4 device but i don't know what to do  :'(

I've attached the photo of the stuck Flir E4.

I've tried to put back the modified common_dll.dll and conf.cfc but even if i have the resolution hack back the booting still get stuck in the middle :(

About the "Recovery procedure" i should upload all the files or only the ones that I've modified/overwritten?
I have only uploaded the overwrittten files and deleted the added files.
« Last Edit: February 28, 2018, 07:01:06 pm by tetsusya »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #607 on: February 28, 2018, 07:05:25 pm »
i was stuck with only plain thermographic images.

This is an indication of the config file not loading. Yoh have to go back and carefully redo the config. You have the same problem as user sata-sata a few posts back.
 
The following users thanked this post: tetsusya

Offline tetsusya

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: it
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #608 on: March 01, 2018, 09:38:05 am »
i was stuck with only plain thermographic images.

This is an indication of the config file not loading. Yoh have to go back and carefully redo the config. You have the same problem as user sata-sata a few posts back.

Preparing the config I had wrongly used the P/N instead of the S/N |O

Now after the "Recovery procedure" I've successfully liberated the Flir E4 using the "Basic update package for E4 2.0L WiFi fw v3.9.0"  ;D

Bud thanks a lot for your hard work and the support given.
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #609 on: March 01, 2018, 11:54:21 am »
Sorry which functions?

Ftp/telnet ip control, mass storage device and video signal
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #610 on: March 01, 2018, 04:11:48 pm »
It may have to do with USB profiles, I am not a USB expert. However i experimented with each of the modes and ended up with hard bricking the camera, so i recommend not to use anything other than rndis and msd+uvc. That hidden nenu is more of an annoyance than anything useful. All it can be used for is to check what mode the camera is currently in.
 

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #611 on: March 01, 2018, 04:14:53 pm »
Could we get RNDIS+MSD+UVC instead of just MSD+UVC ?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #612 on: March 01, 2018, 04:19:57 pm »
I think that was the one which bricked my camera.
 

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #613 on: March 01, 2018, 05:32:03 pm »
I see. Thanks.
 

Offline SteveRosenlund

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: us
FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #614 on: March 03, 2018, 01:27:25 am »
Ok, i've gotten through the Basic 3.12 liberation up until point 16 where i'm transferring the remaining files over.  The file ui_control.rsc causes my camera to no longer boot fully.  It gets a hi res image upon boot, but when the progress bar is about 2/3 full, the screen goes blank and not until i remove ui_control will it again boot fully.  Any ideas?

The screen will go from live image with the gelding blue progress bar to black screen with progress bar. The progress bar will make it across although slowly and the shutter will cycle as normal for a while then quit. If I leave it alone for an hour it stays black with a full progress bar.

All the other files load with no issues, it’s just the UI_Control.rsc that causes it to fail to boot. As soon as I remove the UI_control it boots just fine. 
« Last Edit: March 03, 2018, 02:11:50 am by SteveRosenlund »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #615 on: March 03, 2018, 03:21:46 am »
It is required for full functionality. If you leave the old one you can only have resolution mod. Extended menu and anything else will not be there. Try removing the battery for a minute before you boot after the change.
Alternatively you can try to downgrade to 3.9.0.
 

Offline SteveRosenlund

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 49
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #616 on: March 03, 2018, 03:31:12 am »
So remove the battery longer than a few seconds?  Ok I can try this. Once you get past getting into RNDIS mode and modding the conf files the rest is easy peasy.


Edit: All is good.  Working fine now.  Is there any way on these to unlock the higher frame rate of the EXX series?
« Last Edit: March 03, 2018, 06:24:40 am by SteveRosenlund »
 

Offline Spirit532

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 283
  • Country: by
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #617 on: March 03, 2018, 07:22:26 am »
Is there any way on these to unlock the higher frame rate of the EXX series?

Short answer: No.

Long answer: Yes.
Is it available? No.
Do you have to do it yourself? Yes.
Is it easy? Absolutely not.
How? Reverse-engineer the FPGA bitstream. Probably create your own to replace it.
 

Offline sliceofbytes

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #618 on: March 04, 2018, 05:47:57 pm »
Bud and the others that worked so hard to make this possible, Thank You! I've just finished liberating an E4 Wifi 3.12.0 2.0L camera and everything went off without a hitch. I was able to do the entire process over wifi allowing me to skip the RNDIS steps and dependencies.

My vertical alignment is slightly off between the thermal image and msx. The thermal image being higher then the msx. I've seen some information in the older thread about adjusting this within the calib.rsc. Is this still the recommended method? Should I do this adjustment before applying the advanced or finish liberating then worry about calibration.

Once again thank you very much to Bud and everyone else that have contributed to this.
 

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #619 on: March 05, 2018, 01:41:55 am »
You can do the adjustment with the calib.rsc file, works great. I would do the advanced package first so you can use the digital zoom and all the other features (like fine MSX distances) to really help set the proper calibration values.
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #620 on: March 05, 2018, 01:45:27 am »
You set vertical alignment in menu using Object Distance option.
 
The following users thanked this post: SteveRosenlund

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #621 on: March 06, 2018, 05:10:11 am »
Someone is trying to reach me via PM but i am unable to reply, getting a message the recepient mailbox is full. you have to sort out your PM box problems.
 

Offline David C

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 45
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #622 on: March 06, 2018, 06:26:28 am »
Someone is trying to reach me via PM but i am unable to reply, getting a message the recepient mailbox is full. you have to sort out your PM box problems.

It's inbox that's full, based on what you just said. Not me btw.
 

Offline Mogli1476

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #623 on: March 14, 2018, 02:40:07 am »
Here is a version of the Basic Package for E4 WiFi 2.0L, fw v3.12.0
I do not have a 3.12.0 device, so this version has not been tested.
YOU TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK.
=============

Update: Advanced Package is now available for testing

Thank Bud for this packages! I'm using the advanced 3.12.0 with my C2 and everything is working perfectly. But after modify my device the autorotation function is gone. Do you know how to reinstall or how to activate this function?
Best regards, Mogli
« Last Edit: March 14, 2018, 02:42:42 am by Mogli1476 »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 2719
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #624 on: March 14, 2018, 03:13:18 am »
No i do not know. Try searching design_ui. xml  if it has a autorotate setting.
 
The following users thanked this post: Mogli1476


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf