Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 115483 times)

0 Members and 4 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #250 on: November 02, 2017, 01:58:39 pm »
And then re-do it?
Or will it not (never) work with my device for some reason (region or non-wifi related issues)?

Walk away from it for a day or two, let your mind relax, then do it again starting from downloading the package again. Print out the instructions and put a check mark against each step as you complete it. There is no reason for it not to work on a stock camera.

Quote
Maybe this can be a clue as to why it didn't work for my E4?

No , it is supposed to be that way.
 
The following users thanked this post: Squawk

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #251 on: November 02, 2017, 02:01:01 pm »
And then re-do it?
Or will it not (never) work with my device for some reason (region or non-wifi related issues)?

Walk away from it for a day or two, let your mind relax, then do it again starting from downloading the package again. Print out the instructions and put a check mark against each step as you complete it. There is no reason for it not to work on a stock camera.

Quote
Maybe this can be a clue as to why it didn't work for my E4?

No , it is supposed to be that way.

Thanks, I'll try to be that patient..  ;)
 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #252 on: November 02, 2017, 07:38:23 pm »
After I transfered the SUID adjusted and re-encrypted conf.cfc file to the camera and rebooted for the first time, I already noticed the "Image mode" was greyed out.
So before copying/overwriting all the files from step 16.

Oh, another thing..
In the "Recovery procedure" you wrote this:
•Reconnect USB. Do NOT power on the camera.
•Run FlirInstallNet and upload the temporary RNDIS fif file

But FlirInstallNet could not find the camera and execute the RNDIS fif file unless I booted it.
I had to reverse the hack procedure to get everything back in original state.
edit: I can now..

Would that give a clue of why it didn't completely work?
« Last Edit: November 02, 2017, 08:25:01 pm by Squawk »
 

Offline Myself

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 17
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #253 on: November 02, 2017, 09:30:39 pm »
It is time to get another E4.  A wifi version this round. Any good promotion going on now?

You can get some free stuff with your order: http://www.flir.com/uploadedFiles/Instruments/Promotions/17-2667-INS-Q4-2017-FLIR-PROMO_BONUS-BUYS.pdf

But the E4 Wifi is $949 and the rewards have a big bump at $1000. As far as I can tell, it should be possible to add other "test and measurement" items to get over the threshhold, so I got a soft case and a set of FLIR-branded test leads, putting me at $1008 of products. I'll let you know if it works but it might take quite a while before I find out!
 

Offline Monolith

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: at
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #254 on: November 02, 2017, 11:19:42 pm »
Yesterday i have successfully "upgraded" my Flir E4 non Wifi model 2.0L. Before that i upgraded the firmware from 3.5.0 to 3.9.0. The new measuring options and enhanced IR resolution transformed the E4 into a total new beast. A big thank you to Bud and all involved for their efforts. I appreciate his time investment in all these trials getting to success. I believe he had to watch hundreds of boot screens... 

regards

M
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud

Offline Monolith

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 32
  • Country: at
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #255 on: November 02, 2017, 11:28:36 pm »
Addendum: I too struggled getting the E4 into RNDIS mode. The clue was: After injecting the temporary FIF file with Flirinstallnet.exe the Flir Network adapter only appeared briefly in my windows network settings and i never got a permanent connection. After clicking "Run FIF" you have to power up again the E4 and voila the network connection was stable. Took me a while to sort this out. Btw I am using Win10 Pro, i believe there is no need for a Win7 32bit. Pyhton 2.7 and Win10 pro was no problem for me.
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #256 on: November 03, 2017, 12:37:39 am »
Oh, another thing..
...
Would that give a clue of why it didn't completely work?

That what? Can you post one thing at a time.
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #257 on: November 03, 2017, 12:46:40 am »
Addendum: I too struggled getting the E4 into RNDIS mode.

Flir has been notoriously poor in implementing this piece. In my opinion part of the problem was their choice of the subnet 192.168.0.x which is often already taken by home routers. So with that you get duplicate IPs on the network and not surprizingly things become confused and flaky.
 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #258 on: November 03, 2017, 01:30:56 am »
Oh, another thing..
...
Would that give a clue of why it didn't completely work?

That what? Can you post one thing at a time.

Oh, it worked.. the thing that I scratched through.. about getting connecting to the cam without booting it.

It works, but does show the "charge" symbol.
 

Offline Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8226
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #259 on: November 03, 2017, 02:05:34 am »
OT - from a previous post on the topic.... regarding the bonuses offered when buying an E4. They are, to me, disappointing.

The most useful gifts that could be offered would be one or more of the following...
1. Soft case
2. Spare battery
3. External battery charger dock
4. Car charger cable
5. FLIR branded Powerbank
6. Screen protectors
7. FLIR branded thermometer


The last three items are not regular FLIR items but they should add them to their accessories :)

Just my 5 Cents on that topic. I own the soft case, a spare battery and external charging dock that the FLIR dealer gifted to me when I purchased my E4 in 2013. They are very useful accessories.

Fraser
« Last Edit: November 04, 2017, 10:10:17 pm by Fraser »
 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #260 on: November 03, 2017, 02:52:36 am »
Bud thank you for the time you spent on this and your willingness to share!!
And Bud, Sam, thanks for your patience helping me!

I got it all working and am happy like a little kid on Christmas Eve..!!  :-+
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud, SamLowryBrazil

Offline morbis55

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #261 on: November 03, 2017, 05:35:33 am »
Quote
Download and install FLIR Tools: http://support.flir.com/SwDownload/app/RssSWDownload.aspx?ID=120

Should you use FLIR Tools / FLIR Tools+ 5.13 or FLIR Tools / FLIR Tools+ 6.3 ?
And I suppose the .exe file is what you need right? .zip file is 500MB
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #262 on: November 03, 2017, 05:45:19 am »
You will need FlirInstallNet.exe
If it is going to work by its own without any other installed giles i do not know.
I do not have an answer about which version or combination should be used. My installation is back from 2014. You have to try it by yourself.
 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #263 on: November 03, 2017, 06:29:36 am »
I used the latest version: FLIR Tools+ v 6.3. And that worked fine.
Indeed, download zip file, unzip it and install the software. After install, you need to navigate to: "C:\Program Files\FLIR Systems\FLIR Tools\bin\" and look for the file "FLIRInstallNet.exe".
Run that one and you're good to go.


B.t.w. I wanted a screen protector but didn't find so many suppliers for an Ex serie. If anybody is interested, you can find them here: https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01HDQPBFW/ref=pe_3034960_236394800_TE_3p_dp_1
« Last Edit: November 03, 2017, 06:49:18 am by Squawk »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #264 on: November 03, 2017, 05:38:29 pm »
PIP is now resizeable and moveable  8)



 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #265 on: November 03, 2017, 07:48:13 pm »
Man.. hahaha.. if you keep going, you end up digging stuff up even FLIR doesn't know is there..  8)

B.t.w. has there been any setting you came across (that could be unlocked) that enables you to turn off the "auto calibration"?
Or set it to "manual" or a user settable "time interval"?
« Last Edit: November 03, 2017, 08:03:59 pm by Squawk »
 

Offline bookaboo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 603
  • Country: ie
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #266 on: November 04, 2017, 01:17:49 am »
Does anyone have a 3.9.0 upgrade pack. I have a V3.5.0 I'd like to liberate.
Previously linked files seem to have expired.
« Last Edit: November 04, 2017, 01:19:51 am by bookaboo »
 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #267 on: November 04, 2017, 01:31:29 am »
Markofq posted it in this thread on page 8.
It seems to be still downloadable:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1334948/#msg1334948
 
The following users thanked this post: Sherifftruman

Offline bookaboo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 603
  • Country: ie
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #268 on: November 04, 2017, 02:07:21 am »
I saw that one thanks but neither Chrome nor Firefox will access that link as "Your connection is not secure".
 

Offline Squawk

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 53
  • Country: nl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #269 on: November 04, 2017, 02:17:53 am »
I uploaded it for you via WeTransfer (about 18MB): https://we.tl/cZNKdp304m

The download link will stay valid for 7 days, so be on time..  :)
 
The following users thanked this post: bookaboo

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #270 on: November 04, 2017, 04:13:44 am »
Man.. hahaha.. if you keep going, you end up digging stuff up even FLIR doesn't know is there..  8)

B.t.w. has there been any setting you came across (that could be unlocked) that enables you to turn off the "auto calibration"?
Or set it to "manual" or a user settable "time interval"?

You may be able to turn off autoNUC in the resource tree using rset command, and then use long press of Archive button to trigger manual NUC when you want. If you do not know how to dump and manipulate the resource tree, search E4 Teardown thread for rls,rset,resource keywords.
 
The following users thanked this post: bookaboo, Squawk

Offline OrBy

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 220
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #271 on: November 04, 2017, 05:46:53 am »
Here is a .FIF I made for the normal E4 that turns off NUC'ing until the camera is restarted. (rset .tcomp.services.autoNuc.active false)
When I am going to record video I power on the camera - run the FIF, leave it connected to the charger for 15-20 min to warm up/equalize, then run a manual NUC by holding the "play" button to level it out.
Then your good to record without calibration popups.

(remember to rename it from .zip to .fif)
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud, Squawk

Offline peppy88

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: ua
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #272 on: November 04, 2017, 11:13:53 am »
Just curious. What exactly was done to common_dll.dll that made it so u are allowed to modify conf.cfc?
 

Offline DaveWB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 140
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #273 on: November 04, 2017, 05:02:16 pm »
Just curious. What exactly was done to common_dll.dll that made it so u are allowed to modify conf.cfc?
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud

Offline bookaboo

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 603
  • Country: ie
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #274 on: November 05, 2017, 12:33:20 am »
I uploaded it for you via WeTransfer (about 18MB): https://we.tl/cZNKdp304m

The download link will stay valid for 7 days, so be on time..  :)

Thanks to you and thanks to Bud. All sorted  :-+
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf