Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 115412 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline HappyHobbyist

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #475 on: January 09, 2018, 12:18:53 pm »
Hello theBigK

Here is the file I downloaded from Markofq's link.  https://ufile.io/vil2l

I haven't tried it myself yet.  Best of luck.  Let us know how it goes.
 

Offline theBigK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #476 on: January 09, 2018, 05:02:17 pm »
Thanks so much!! I will attempt the basic upgrade tomorrow, wanted to jump into the advanced but figured I'd wait until I learn all the current menus
 

Offline theBigK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #477 on: January 10, 2018, 03:53:21 am »
Hello everyone, new member here.

I'm curious if anyone has had any luck or knows if a FLIR E4 Wifi - 2.0L HW (3.12.0 FW) can be upgraded.  In going through the forum it looks like it may be possible to load the 3.9.0 FW Markofq posted.  Then follow Bud's amazingly helpful instructions.

Would appreciate any insight.

I am too wondering if it's possible to downgrade? I still have a return policy on this one, so not afraid to try to do it just wanted to know how to go about it or just return it and try to find one with lower firmware.


I incorrectly read firmware numbers, I thought mine was 3.9.0 while 3.1.2 was the older one, obviously got that backwards.
« Last Edit: January 10, 2018, 04:00:18 am by theBigK »
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #478 on: January 11, 2018, 06:05:55 pm »
Here is a version of the Basic Package for E4 WiFi 2.0L, fw v3.12.0
I do not have a 3.12.0 device, so this version has not been tested.
YOU TRY AT YOUR OWN RISK.
=============

Update: Basic Package v3.12.0 is confirmed working.
Update: Advanced Package v3.12.0 is confirmed working.
Update August 2018: New camera version v3.13.0 confirmed working with this v3.12.0 Basic Package. See post here:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1733972/#msg1733972
« Last Edit: August 11, 2018, 02:26:32 pm by Bud »
 
The following users thanked this post: dieseltech82, chang1, Alexx177, tetsusya, tedg, PRBG, WinDragon, WeKeys, lutqq, BodHack

Offline unclerunkle

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #479 on: January 11, 2018, 09:11:13 pm »
Anyone have access to the 3.12.0 update pack (.fif)?  Not sure where we get that from...

Nevermind, found it on their support site to download.
http://cdn.cloud.flir.se/swdownload/assets/cameradownload/flir_ex_pn639_v3.12.0_update_pack.zip
« Last Edit: January 11, 2018, 09:21:13 pm by unclerunkle »
 

Offline tbuck410

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #480 on: January 15, 2018, 09:27:49 am »
Bud and several others, Thank you so much. :-+
I am not sure if everyone on here realizes this, but these procedures basically turn a Flir E4, $1000, into a E8, $3000....a pretty damn good return on some time and effort. This would not pe possible without all the hard work and time Bud put into this.

Thank you Bud and all others for helping people with this project!!!!!
« Last Edit: January 15, 2018, 10:03:43 am by tbuck410 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud, anton610

Offline tbuck410

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #481 on: January 15, 2018, 11:18:28 am »
I noticed that there are still old model and new model E4's still available on Amazon. Both are currently $949. Both the previous E4 1.2L and the current E4 2.0L (mine came with 3.12, but I easily downgraded it to 3.9 as required by the tested and approved method) models) are available.

A question for all of you very experienced users: For those who may be looking at buying one, are there any differences in the performance or specs of either one after it has been modified?

Thanks!!!
 

Offline theBigK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #482 on: January 16, 2018, 05:44:17 am »
hi tbuck, can you help me out with downgrading my unit? Or at least point me to the info of where I could do it?
 

Offline SteveRosenlund

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 50
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #483 on: January 16, 2018, 06:23:56 am »
I just ordered a new E4 from Tequipment and its projected ship date is Feb 13th.  Gonna try this in Feb looks like.   |O
 

Offline tbuck410

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #484 on: January 16, 2018, 08:07:40 am »
BigK,

There is a link to the upgrade/downgrade file in the post immediately following your request for it. The instructions are included in the zip file.

Please understand that people on here will be much more helpful if it looks like you have tried hard to find the answers before you ask on this board. This topic ONLY has 20 pages and if you look you will see that I never posted once until I had success, despite the fact the I DID have issues.

Also I knew what you meant when you asked for help on your downgrade, (because I had seen and read all of your posts) but for your own benefit, you need to be more specific, especially in a post asking for help. The words downgrade can be used to mean several very different things pertaining to this subject.
 

Offline theBigK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #485 on: January 16, 2018, 12:41:10 pm »
I didn't take a closer look at the 3.12 files but in my mind that was an unsafe option so I was asking on the procedure to downgrade firmware to 3.9, I could take it from there. I wasn't sure if your procedure was different than Bud's, sorry for not being specific. I was at work and I know many of us are on different time zones so wanted to post and gather all the data before I attempt to void my warranty :)
 

Offline tbuck410

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #486 on: January 16, 2018, 01:05:55 pm »
You follow the procedure for downgrading from 3.12 to 3.9 as shown with the 3.9 download. Then you follow Bud's procedure for the Basic and if you want the Advanced upgrades.

Also, please do the full backup before attempting the upgrades and also print out or save the recovery procedure. And don't expect to do this in a short period of time or with distractions...trust me it can be a little tricky.

Good Luck!! :-+
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #487 on: January 16, 2018, 03:13:30 pm »
Here is another little enhancement which you can do by yourself:

Open the file design_ui.xml in a text editor
FlashBFS/system/ui.d/design_ui.xml

find the string 
Code: [Select]
"toolbarSeparators" value="false"
change "false" to "true"

Reboot the camera.

The menu bar background changes from black to transparent as you use it to change settings/palettes, resembling a computer desktop with icons.



You can leave it like that if you prefer it that way, or revert the change and reboot.
Have fun !
« Last Edit: January 16, 2018, 03:16:24 pm by Bud »
 
The following users thanked this post: mrubbert, Squawk, anton610

Offline termo8910

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: pl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #488 on: January 16, 2018, 07:42:08 pm »
Hi everyone, this is my first post in this forum. Big thanks to Bud for sharing files for unlocking the camera. I have a question, after hacking the camera is not connected in the flir tools program. I have to manually download photos using filezilla and later add to filr tools, is it normal? Before the hack, the camera was connected in flir tools.
 

Online Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8226
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #489 on: January 16, 2018, 10:40:34 pm »
Have you returned the camera to its original USB port mode ?

In RNDIS you can use FileZilla etc but it no longer appears to a PC to be a Mass Storage Device.

You need to return the camera to UVC-MSD mode for normal daily use.

Fraser
 
The following users thanked this post: termo8910

Offline termo8910

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: pl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #490 on: January 17, 2018, 06:16:00 am »
Thanks so much for the tip. After all, it's that simple. Everything works.

Termo
 

Offline theBigK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #491 on: January 17, 2018, 07:13:48 pm »
hi guys, I am on step 9, and my PC crashed, I cannot  get the camera to connect to my home wifi, nor share it's wifi. It was working earlier. I am asking on whether I should be looking at my network settings and trying different routers, or is it because I crashed while in telnet with using stopapp command?
 

Offline theBigK

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 20
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #492 on: January 18, 2018, 02:11:30 am »
I turned it off over night and it connected to WiFi, after trying to diagnose my connectivity issues for almost two hours. Sometimes take a break, shut things down, and try it again! I have liberated the 3.9 and downgraded the 3.12 thanks everyone for the help. It took a little longer than expected but well worth it, now to learn the new menu and how to use this properly in a PCB application as well as diesel and gas engine application
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #493 on: January 18, 2018, 03:00:56 am »
good to hear that! you did not 'have to' do it via WiFi, USB works a treat and in some cases is the only way when wireless connectivity is lost.
 

Offline rockwell

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #494 on: January 18, 2018, 05:51:53 am »
First of all a BIG thank you very MUCH for Bud

Read for hours and prepared myself well. Laptop with windows 7 32bit and all recomended software installed.
My E4 has hardware 2.0L and software version 3.12.0 and is without wifi.

Followed all the steps Bud described in his upgrade procedure "Liberating FLIR E4 WiFi ver 3.12.0"

Unfortunately I failed in liberating my E4

The line "python cfccfg_v2.py XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX conf.cfg conf.cfc"  gives me an eror: can't overwrite same file name.

So best to do I think is to restore backup and try again from 0.
Maybe someone knows what is wrong in that phyton line.



 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #495 on: January 18, 2018, 06:19:30 am »
You perform this step outside of the camera, so not sure why you think you need to restore the backup, you have not changed anything on the camera yet.

make sure there is no other conf. cfc in the folder where you run the command, and that you enter filenames and extensions correctly.
 

Offline rockwell

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #496 on: January 18, 2018, 09:10:02 am »
I fidled around a lot and finaly got a conf.cfg file that I uploaded to the camera.
There is only one conf.cfg file in the folder, it's the conf.cfg file where I added the 9 diggit serial.

Than I start the phyton command and get above mentioned error.

So I clean up the mess I made and try again tomorrow, now I understand the workflow better and know how to start RNDIS
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3244
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #497 on: January 18, 2018, 02:00:54 pm »
You may have erroneously typed the same file name extension twice, i.e.

python cfccfg_v2.py XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX conf.cfg conf.cfg"
 

Offline stylius

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: lt
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #498 on: January 18, 2018, 07:14:56 pm »
Hello. Today got second FLIR E4 2.0L Software 3.12.0.  It is without wifi.  Few years ago i hack E4 with 2.3 software. But now new version and need some help.
 So resolution hack working good with 3.9 version? yes? Daes anybody can share link with downgrade files?
 

Offline rockwell

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #499 on: January 18, 2018, 10:17:10 pm »
Hi Bud,

Yes you are right I used twice the file ending CFG instead of CFC and CFG.

So everything went right this time, every stepp worked without any problem.
Camera is working just as before, but unfortunately the resolution stays at 80x60.

But one question about the SUID string, should I use the "xxxxxxxxxx" or xxxxxxxxx way ?
I fired the python command without " " around the SUID
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf