Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 115046 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Fraser

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 8225
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #800 on: March 21, 2019, 11:33:56 am »
Have you looked at the original E4 upgrade thread ? It was actually titled as the E4 teardown but became dedicated to upgrading the early E4 camera models like yours.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/

The first post contains an index of upgrades for different versions of firmware, including yours.

And yes your camera can be updraded relatively easily.

Fraser
 

Offline hibeejo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: gb
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #801 on: March 21, 2019, 11:55:36 am »
hi

thanks for replying,yeah looked on that thread but couldnt (unless i'm missing something right under my nose), see the info relating to the 1.1L Build
 

Offline DaveWB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 140
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #802 on: March 21, 2019, 12:08:32 pm »
Upgrade it to 3.13 and do the most recent hack.
 

Offline czjesus

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: cz
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #803 on: March 25, 2019, 05:53:15 am »
Hi
I just bought new FLIR E4 without WIFI from RS components. I wanted to use liberation package, but I made terrible mistake  |O.
Camera was delivered with firmware 3.16. I was not able to active RNDIS, I was mislead by some post about secret menu. (I am stupid  |O)
So I decided to use Flir tools which were recommending firmware "upgrade" to version 3.12. So I start firmware upgrade procedure from flir tools, but after procedure finishes (without any errors) camera show messy image (see ). Then I find how to correctly activate RNDIS. I made "backup" of all files after this upgrade and try to proceed with liberation step by step.
Basic liberation package and advanced. Hi res tweak was probably successful - after it I can see hires distorted image and all new menus are probably also working.
If I use 3.12 common_dll.dll after upgrade or from liberation package I see distorted image. If I use Bud 3.16 common_dll.dll from one of previous posts camera don’t boot - it stuck at Flir logo and I can connect only through recovery login. I tried to boot it with original cfc file and also with liberated cfc.
I don’t have backup of my original 3.16 files. Does anybody have official fif file for upgrade to 3.16?
Can anybody please help? Thank You.

 

Online mikhail076

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #804 on: April 01, 2019, 07:42:09 pm »
Upgrade it to 3.13 and do the most recent hack.

Are you sure that this can be done successfully?
1.2L (NOT 2.0!!!) and 3.12.  Can do the most recent hack?
 

Offline DaveWB

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 140
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #805 on: April 02, 2019, 01:43:11 pm »
Yep
 

Offline Fernandochia

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: uy
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #806 on: April 07, 2019, 04:44:04 am »
Hello yo all, this is my first post.

Yesterday i bought a new E4 no Wifi with HW1.2L but FW 3.12.0. (maybe this info is helpfull for someone who is going to buy a new one).

Believe me, i has spent a lot of hour reading this topic and the original (Thermal imaging camera teardown), but all that information started to mix in my head.

Xenawise has asked for recomendation on similar case (HW 1.2L and 2.8.0 FW). When she asked, the 3.12.0 liberation pack wasn't ready, and the recomendation Fraser gave was to downgrade to FW 2.11.

Now the 3.12.0 (my current FW) is ready and tested, but i only recall for succes on 2.0L HW cases.
DaveWB has recomend to upgrade to 3.13 and perform the most recent hack.

In resume i have the following questions:

1- Xenawise: Did you succesfully perform the liberation by downgrading to 2.11? Can you send me by PM a resume of the steps you had performed?
2- Mikhail076: I think you are in the same boat as i, how was your experience?
3- DaveWB, Fraser: What path do you recomend me to follow?
4- Can i perform the liberation in a Win 7 64 bits computer?

Thanks in advance, and special thanks to bud and all the people that is collaborating whit this topic!
(Sorry if my english it's not good).
 

Offline lutqq

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 1
  • Country: ua
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #807 on: April 28, 2019, 05:34:35 am »
E5   2,0L    3.13.0   

I got resolution hack !!!!!   the 320*240 works on E5 !!!

1) used files for version 3.12.0 

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1397359/#msg1397359

2) replaced only two files (common_dll.dll  and conf.cfc), the rest file did not try

3) in the conf.cfg file in the line made the replacement of "E4" by "E5"
before:              .caps.config.name text "app E4"
after change:    .caps.config.name text "app E5"

the rest of the changes are exactly the same as in the Bud instructions


thx  Bud

Update:   I load all "Basic Package" files.  All are working fine.
« Last Edit: April 28, 2019, 07:47:41 pm by lutqq »
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud, dieseltech82

Offline aknorts

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: pl
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #808 on: May 11, 2019, 10:17:50 pm »
Is it possible to edit file "facet.rcc"?
I have Visual Studio and I can open it, but I think it is encrypted.
 

Offline dieseltech82

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #809 on: May 22, 2019, 03:21:54 am »
I just bought an E5 only to find that I could have saves some money and hacked an E4. That's ok, I'm not mad. I will check firmware and hopefully I'll be able to hack like you did.  :-+
 

Offline dieseltech82

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 37
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #810 on: May 25, 2019, 04:08:32 am »
I was able to get this working today on my Flir E5 2.0L 3.16. Installed both basic and advanced. I'm a lvl 2 thermographer but haven't used the technology for at least 8 years. I think this guy is better than the 20K unit i used back then.
I did have a couple hangups
1) RNDIS is not necessary if you have a WiFi unit. I used the hotspot in my house to connect the device to, then I was able to ping the device as described using cmd prompt ping IRCAMxxxx. X's being the last 4 of S/N
2) The whole python thing was difficult as I have done 0 with code previously. Another mentioned using MS cmd prompt and his explanation worked 100%. Make sure to have the appropriate CFG file (basic or advanced) in the Python27 folder. Also, be sure to open the downloaded cfg file in NOTEPAD in order to modify it for your devices S/N.
I used WinSPC, it was ezpz.
Thanks to all who contributed. Bud, if you have PayPal I would love to donate to your time in developing all of this. I don't have crypto but I will figure out how to pay that way if that's your preference (I don't blame you for wanting to stay away from sites like PayPal).
Again, everything works great on my new camera. No hiccups, no issues. It all went without an issue. It took approximately 2.5 hours, over half of that was me trying to figure out the WiFi connection and python  |O

I'm running a windows 7 professional x64 system if that helps
« Last Edit: May 25, 2019, 04:21:51 am by dieseltech82 »
 
The following users thanked this post: Bud

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3239
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #811 on: May 25, 2019, 04:28:13 am »
Thanks diesel, i will save you time on learning cryptocurrency, please send your donation to the owner of this site as a token of appreciation from both of us for providing such wonderful resource platform. You can simply use the Donate button at the bottom of the main eevblog.com page.  8)
 
The following users thanked this post: dieseltech82

Offline victorhooi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: au
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #812 on: June 05, 2019, 07:55:32 am »
I have a Flir E4 WiFi.

The model is E4 2.0L.

Software version is 3.12.0.

I believe I previously tried doing the resolution hack but it didn't work, and I had to revert to the original files I backed up.

I'd like to take another go.

Does anybody know what's the latest official firmware I should update to, before trying? And where do I download this firmware from? (For some reason I can't find the download link on the FLIR website).

And which package should I be using to modify the above hardware/software version?
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3239
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #813 on: June 06, 2019, 12:02:04 am »
See post #478
 

Offline victorhooi

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: au
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #814 on: June 06, 2019, 07:08:53 am »
Ok go it - I've found that post:

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-wifi-resolution-and-menu-hack-thread/msg1397359/#msg1397359

So this is the hack for 3.12.0.

Do you know if this package will also work on any more recent firmware versions? (Apart from 3.13.0).

Also - I noticed when I booted up the FLIR for the first time, there was a message about this firmware being for educational purposes, and to remove it before selling or something - so it's possible I didn't fully revert it back to stock when I was mucking around with it last time. I thought I had a backup and copied it with WinSCP - but is there another way I should revert it back to stock?

EDIT: Also - where does one download 3.13.0? (Or whichever is the latest firmware version that works with this hack).
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3239
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #815 on: June 06, 2019, 08:26:33 am »
 You should read the thread. I do not remember all details, once i write a post i put all i know in it and move on.
 

Offline likuidphreon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #816 on: June 29, 2019, 11:29:42 am »
Out of curiosity, is there a way to remove the nag screen on my newly modified E4? (Linked pic)
 

Offline Spirit532

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 386
  • Country: by
    • My website
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #817 on: June 29, 2019, 11:49:37 am »
You've been given a free upgrade. Don't be greedy.
 

Offline likuidphreon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #818 on: June 29, 2019, 11:56:57 am »
You've been given a free upgrade. Don't be greedy.
This thread is full of users asking for help and features to be added. I don't see how me doing the same labels me as greedy or how this even has anything to do with greed.
 

Offline Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3239
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #819 on: June 29, 2019, 02:06:56 pm »
This was answered already in this topic.
 

Online mikhail076

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 8
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #820 on: June 30, 2019, 07:21:44 am »
why wants to fix pop-up screen pm me
« Last Edit: June 30, 2019, 03:04:55 pm by mikhail076 »
 

Offline Spirit532

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 386
  • Country: by
    • My website
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #821 on: June 30, 2019, 09:53:51 am »
Those sellers are scammers providing a butchered version of this package. Never buy from them.
 

Offline likuidphreon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #822 on: June 30, 2019, 11:57:26 am »
This was answered already in this topic.

Sorry, I was using the search function but none of my queries were returning any results in this thread. So I went back through and found that it looks like you do not want this splash screen/nag removed. That's fine, but could you point us in the right direction of the file associated with it if we wanted to add to it? Something along the lines of "This Flir is property of ____, if found, please call _____"
Thanks for everything you have done to advance this project!
 

Offline Spirit532

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 386
  • Country: by
    • My website
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #823 on: June 30, 2019, 12:00:04 pm »
That's like saying "You don't want to remove the nag screen. That's fine. Could you point me to where it's located so I can do that myself instead?"
 

Offline likuidphreon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #824 on: June 30, 2019, 12:01:32 pm »
I wonder how they do it...supposedly it reads as an E8 in software as well? According to the one listing I saw on there.  :-//
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf