Author Topic: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread  (Read 179808 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline darix362

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #950 on: February 22, 2020, 11:27:28 am »
Hey there,

today i successfully liberated my E5xt HW 2.1L FW 3.16 with the provided packages (basic and advanced, christmas not tried).
Thanks a lot to Bud for his work and to PDS for testing the E5xt.

But there ist one more thing i noticed: So the E5xt should have an extended temperature range from -10 to 400 °C next to -20 to 250 °C. With the Advanced package the extended temperature range is gone in menu. I only can choose the normal range from -20 to 250.

So i hope we could find a fix for that. I which file are the ranges written down, did someone know that?
 

Online Weston

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #951 on: February 22, 2020, 07:51:33 pm »
Just to check, is there any version of the E4 wifi which can not be upgraded? I was considering ordering a new one from TEquipment and applying the hack.

There is a guy on ebay that applies the hacks as a service and he claims that the E4 wifi HW 2.1L can not be unlocked, but it seems that people are unlocking HW 2.1L cameras. Does that only work starting from a E5xt instead of the E4?
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3976
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #952 on: February 22, 2020, 09:15:41 pm »
This entire thread is for E4. Just the previous page contains several references to E4 2.1L if you bother to read. Let the eBay guy do what he is doing,the Karma will find him  ;)
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Online Weston

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 43
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #953 on: February 22, 2020, 11:05:48 pm »
I really appreciate the work you do on this Bud, it must be frustrating to have some random guy on ebay profit on it.

I have searched the thread and read the last 10 pages or so. The only reference I can find to the 2.1L hardware revision is pds and darix362 upgrading their E5xt cameras, nothing about the E4. Does a E4 wifi 2.1L hardware revision even exist / is the E5xt similar enough to the E4 where it does not make a difference?

The procedure for upgrading the camera seems simple enough, I just wanted to check if anything has changed recently in terms of software or hardware revisions. I guess if I receive a camera with a new hardware/software revision that will not work I can always return it, but it would be great if that could be avoided.
« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 11:36:54 pm by Weston »
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3976
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #954 on: February 23, 2020, 07:28:59 am »
If the hardware is of a same revision then there is no reason same changes would not work I think.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 
The following users thanked this post: Weston

Offline sitongec

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #955 on: February 27, 2020, 01:20:00 am »
Hey there,

today i successfully liberated my E5xt HW 2.1L FW 3.16 with the provided packages (basic and advanced, christmas not tried).
Thanks a lot to Bud for his work and to PDS for testing the E5xt.

But there ist one more thing i noticed: So the E5xt should have an extended temperature range from -10 to 400 °C next to -20 to 250 °C. With the Advanced package the extended temperature range is gone in menu. I only can choose the normal range from -20 to 250.

So i hope we could find a fix for that. I which file are the ranges written down, did someone know that?
Hi darix362
                I have the same problem. I use the basic method of bud. I tried to solve the problem. I compared the original and replacement files of e5xt, and found that the file about temperature range is "design ui.xml", and it’s reference file is "ui_control.rsc". I tried to make such a change, changing"\flashbfs\system\ui. d\design_ui.xml" in UI_control.RSC file to "\flashbfs\system\ui.d\design_ui*.XML". Change the name of the design_ui.xml file, such as design_ui_hak.xml, copy the "design_ui_z3.xml" & "design_ui_z3ets.xml" from the backup, and then hard restart.
 

Offline darix362

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #956 on: February 28, 2020, 11:59:16 pm »
So you changed the line "\FlashBFS\system\ui.d\design_ui.xml" in the file "ui_control.rsc" from the basic/advanced package to \FlashBFS\system\ui.d\design_ui*.xml"? Does it work for you without any other glitches?

Did the Camera know, which file she had to use, because for me the "*" looks like a placeholder for the files "design_ui_z3.xml" & "design_ui_z3ets.xml" or did she use all 3 files? Maybe the camera uses the first file recognising and "design_ui_hak.xml" comes at first.

The files "design_ui_z3.xml" & "design_ui_z3ets.xml" didn't changed during basic and advanced package or am i wrong?

Edit: Found the solution for the missing temperature range for the Ex-Series xt-Models:
In "design_ui.xml" add:

"<ui_model type="SettingsHorizontalModel" name="temperatureRangeSettingsModel" footerEnabled="true" backOnTrigger="1"
delegateType="valueSelector">
<ui_model type="TemperatureRangeSettingsModel" translations="footer"/>
</ui_model>"

after the following lines:

"<ui_model type="TemperatureRangeSettingsModel" name="temperatureRangeSettingsModel">
<ui_model_item type="SettingItem" ID="TEMP_RANGE" label="ID_SETUP_PROGRAMMABLE_TEMP_RANGE_BRIEF"/>
</ui_model>"
 
Now its possible to change the temperature range in the camera settings from "-20 - 250" to "10 - 400" °C.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2020, 08:09:13 pm by darix362 »
 

Offline sitongec

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #957 on: February 29, 2020, 06:51:16 am »
yes more insurance.  u can change file name  "design_ui_hak.xml"  that is different from the wildcard or delete it.——this  only Test on my E5-XT Hw2.1 FW3.16
« Last Edit: March 04, 2020, 08:29:46 am by sitongec »
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3976
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #958 on: February 29, 2020, 07:01:24 am »
Guys can you start a separate topic for E5 to avoid confusing other readers. Thanks.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline ngzhang0

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #959 on: March 04, 2020, 08:38:34 pm »
So my camera was firmware 1.2L, software 2.8.
I put the camera in RNDIS mode and then realized I would need to downgrade to 2.3 software. I tried the link posted and it was dead.
So I installed the latest version of Flir Tools and saw there was a software update to 3.16, a known hackable version based on my reading.
I installed it and rebooted the camera. Everything seems fine, EXCEPT that I cannot connect to it via FTP. If I set the Flir RNDIS network adapter to an IP of 192.168.0.2, I can ping it, but I cannot live connect in Flir Tools. I get the error "CAMERA_RTREE_CONNECT ERROR" in the Log window.
When trying to run a FIF to remove RNDIS I get "RESPONSE_TIMEOUT" in FlirInstallNet

Thoughts?



I'm in the same situation, my CAM is E4,1.2 and firmware 3.16, I use FLIRInstallNet and Set_RNDIS_permament to set it in RNDIS model, but when I hard restart the CAM, it operations well but nobody can connect to the CAM via USB, include FLIRInstallNet, FTP or FLIR TOOLS, the IP address goes to 169.254.87.9. I manually set it to 192.168.1.7 and it response the ping but FTP and telnet to this address don't work, the host just closed the connection. FLIRInstallNet will recognize a device named like " network - 192.168.1.8" (yes, its 192.168.1.8, not 192.168.1.7). When trying to run a FIF to remove RNDIS I get "RESPONSE_TIMEOUT" in FlirInstallNet

I'm sick now  |O
 

Online Bud

  • Super Contributor
  • ***
  • Posts: 3976
  • Country: ca
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #960 on: March 05, 2020, 05:59:36 am »
So my camera was firmware 1.2L, software 2.8.
I put the camera in RNDIS mode and then realized I would need to downgrade to 2.3 software. I tried the link posted and it was dead.
So I installed the latest version of Flir Tools and saw there was a software update to 3.16, a known hackable version based on my reading.
I installed it and rebooted the camera. Everything seems fine, EXCEPT that I cannot connect to it via FTP. If I set the Flir RNDIS network adapter to an IP of 192.168.0.2, I can ping it, but I cannot live connect in Flir Tools. I get the error "CAMERA_RTREE_CONNECT ERROR" in the Log window.
When trying to run a FIF to remove RNDIS I get "RESPONSE_TIMEOUT" in FlirInstallNet

Thoughts?

I'm in the same situation, my CAM is E4,1.2 and firmware 3.16, I use FLIRInstallNet and Set_RNDIS_permament to set it in RNDIS model, but when I hard restart the CAM, it operations well but nobody can connect to the CAM via USB, include FLIRInstallNet, FTP or FLIR TOOLS, the IP address goes to 169.254.87.9. I manually set it to 192.168.1.7 and it response the ping but FTP and telnet to this address don't work, the host just closed the connection. FLIRInstallNet will recognize a device named like " network - 192.168.1.8" (yes, its 192.168.1.8, not 192.168.1.7). When trying to run a FIF to remove RNDIS I get "RESPONSE_TIMEOUT" in FlirInstallNet

I'm sick now  |O

I do not think it would work if you manually change the IP of the RNDIS network adapter. What you should try is Windows XP (or a virtual machine running Windows XP). You have to achieve automatic assignment of the proper IP address (192.168.0.2 I believe). Windows 7 or Windows 10 may not correctly do it. WinXP does it correctly.
Facebook-free life and Rigol-free shack.
 

Offline ngzhang0

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: cn
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #961 on: March 05, 2020, 07:08:28 am »
Thanks, I will try it later. Maybe WIN10 is the problem.
 

Offline likuidphreon

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 10
  • Country: us
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #962 on: March 17, 2020, 06:43:06 pm »
Having spent a lot of time reading and searching, I am trying to determine the upgrade path for my E4 1.2L 3.12 camera. I see solutions for v 2.0 hardware, but I am not finding it for 1.2. Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
 

Offline darix362

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 5
  • Country: de
Re: FLIR E4 Wifi Resolution and Menu Hack Thread
« Reply #963 on: March 19, 2020, 03:44:33 pm »
Hey, maybe you have to look in the old thread. You can start at page 1, but maybe this message could help you.

https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/flir-e4-thermal-imaging-camera-teardown/msg1335853/?topicseen#msg1335853
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf