Author Topic: Newbie looking for a versatile thermal camera  (Read 1663 times)

Offline AbsoluteDriftTopic starter

Newbie looking for a versatile thermal camera
« on: September 27, 2021, 05:55:55 pm »
Hello everyone!

I am new to this forum. Hopefully I'm not breaking a rule by posting here as my first post...if so, sorry in advance mods!

I found my way here by searching for some info on thermal imaging cameras, and stumbled across the FLIR E4 modifications that greatly expand the capabilities of that unit.

I am looking for recommendations for a good, versatile thermal camera. I am not a professional that would rely on the camera or anything, it would be just for my tinkering with things and doing some DIY home efficiency improvements and other uses. I like tools, I admit I don't need a camera but I WANT one haha...I'm sure I'll end up using it on all sorts of projects and situations.

I found some "new" and slightly used E4s in eBay for an OK price. There is also pre-modded E4s that are upgraded to E8 spec on eBay and those go for ~$1200. My question is, would the FLIR E4 be a great option for me with the mods, or is there a better or cheaper option with good resolution out there? I know a lot of time has passed since the E4 was in its heyday, and usually over time tech evolves pretty quick and prices come down and capabilities go up. One thing to consider is I'm not a tech wiz by any means, and I'm not 100% confident I can perform the upgrades to an E4 without asking a lot of redundant or annoying questions from the good people here at this forum.

I don't need extreme accuracy (at least I don't think I do at the moment). One thing I did notice is the limited temperature range of the E4, is there mods for the E5xt to unlock the better capabilities similar to the E4? The temperature range of that unit (up to 400C) seems much more versatile to me than the 250C of the E4.