Author Topic: How hard is it to create a DIY Thermal Zoom Lens?  (Read 3656 times)

Offline AranLeerTopic starter

How hard is it to create a DIY Thermal Zoom Lens?
« on: October 27, 2022, 12:35:02 pm »
Hello Everyone.
I've recently purchased one of the "Infiray P2 Pro" cameras, which will arrive soon. I like that it comes with a magnetic macro lens attachment for close-up work, but it did make me wonder - would it be possible to make a DIY magnetically-attachable zoom lens for it as well?

I have some experience making visible-light zoom lenses, so my assumption is it would be possible to get a high-magnification optical lens, and a larger low magnification objective lens, and then build them into a cylinder where the objective lens can screw in or out for focus.

But does anyone have experience building something like this for Thermal?

Offline Fraser

• Super Contributor
Re: How hard is it to create a DIY Thermal Zoom Lens?
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2022, 01:10:43 pm »
A fellow forum member created a telephoto supplemental lens and documented it here and in a instructable....

https://www.instructables.com/Diy-Thermal-Camera-Telephoto-Converter/

Note these are fixed telephoto lenses and not a variable magnification zoom.

I bought FLUKE telephoto X2 supplemental lenses for less than £200 as it was cheaper than buying the parts to make one. Those lenses match well into many camera lens systems. I was also fortunate enough to buy a Torrey Pines X3 supplemental lens at a good price but those are uncommon and normally expensive.

The problem you face is the sourcing of suitable lens elements at a sensible cost. Small Plano convex lenses are relatively common but larger diameters, bi-concave and meniscus lenses often have to be harvested from surplus complete lenses and cameras. New LWIR AR coated lenses can get very expensive if not a common type used for laser engravers etc.

Fraser
« Last Edit: November 02, 2022, 01:18:48 pm by Fraser »