Author Topic: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside  (Read 3287 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« on: April 12, 2024, 12:13:46 pm »
I didn't found something useful about this topic. So i will post it here.

Recently i bought a HTI HT-H8 and was a bit disappointed about the minimum focus distance. I opend the HT-H8, which was a bit tricky because i couldn't find a teardown video or images.

Inside is something like an Android board i guess and to my surprise a camera modul that looks exactly like a HT-301. I found an image in the HT-301 thread https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/hti-ht-301-384-x-288/100/ from @RBsonic and it looks exactly like my one.

There seems to be an UART connector. I will see what options are there. Maybe a console.
« Last Edit: April 12, 2024, 02:17:52 pm by JimKnopf »
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT8 has a HT301 inside
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2024, 12:15:55 pm »
Some more images.
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2024, 04:49:47 pm »
It is a UART port. As you can see in the image, 8,7µs (8,68µs but rounded in this view), thats 115200 baud. Bootlog is attached. 
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2024, 05:44:15 pm »
I adjusted the HT-301 focus ring to min. position (thread out to maximum) and can now go as near as 6 cm to my target board. I use it for fault finding on boards. Thats much better than the previous (original) 24 cm. 
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #4 on: April 12, 2024, 06:23:04 pm »
Today arrived a Infiray P2 Pro with makro lens. Here's a comparison of both devices after adjusting the HTI HT-H8 to 8 cm focus distance. The P2 Pro has 4 cm focus distance with the makro lense (is it a lense?). The P2 images are screenshots i captured in TC View, running in a VM. Autofocus seems not working in this Windows Software. The HTI images are straight from the camera.
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #5 on: April 15, 2024, 06:17:18 am »
Maybe the images are not that sharp. Here is a chip list from mainboard:

Allwinner     A33                           CPU, ARMv7
X-Powers     AXP221                     PMIC
Microchip     M2S025-FCSG325      FPGA
SKHynix      H5TQ4G83CFR           4Gb / 512 MB DDR3 SDRAM
Samsung     KLMAG1JETD-B041    8GB eMMC
Genesis       GL850G                    USB Controller
Realtek        RTL8188ETV             Wifi SoC

I attach the printenv and the command list from sunxi u-boot shell.

First time i have to deal with sunxi u-boot. Command list is very limited.
I installed the sunxi-tools to use their FEL mode. I have to dig into the sunxi tools to read the firmware/emmc.
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #6 on: April 21, 2024, 06:49:26 pm »
I'm stuck at crosscompiling sunxi u-boot.

There is a interesting ht-a8 binary file located in the root dir.
In the boot directory are some interesting files:
magic.bin
test_config.bin
test_config.fex

Unfortunally there is no ssh and no nc installed. But since the device has wifi and a webserver, i have copied the files in the webserver folder and grabbed the files using wget.

From what i can see, the ht-a8 file show me interesting data.
The files are crosscompiled with linaro toolchain:
gcc-linaro-arm-linux-gnueabi-2012.03-20120326_linux_Seek.

The device seems to have no SPI flash memory. Maybe the ht-a8 is already the firmware file?

@DavidAlfa @tv84 @pcprogrammer I could use a little support from experienced sunxi-fel mode fighters.

Should i try the linaro toolchain compile u-boot?

I attach the files. Like always, remove the .txt from the files, replace the last underscore with a dot.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2024, 08:12:47 am by JimKnopf »
 

Offline ArsenioDev

  • Frequent Contributor
  • **
  • Posts: 251
  • Country: us
    • DiscountMissiles: my portfolio and landing page
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2024, 02:45:18 pm »
What program are you using there? it seems vaguely familiar
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #8 on: April 22, 2024, 03:03:37 pm »
@ArsenioDev I opened the files in Malcat (usually i use ImHex).
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #9 on: April 22, 2024, 07:21:03 pm »
I attach a complete file list (ls -laR). I found some interesting files in /dragonboard/bin.
There is a file called core. After executing, the display moved in something like a testmode.

Seems there is no way to boot into FEL mode from command line when the device booted regular. Only from u-boot i can run efex to let the device start in FEL mode. I tested all possible key combinations. No FEL mode by keyboard. But interestingly, when pressing a key, you see the executed commands in the shell.
« Last Edit: April 22, 2024, 08:50:38 pm by JimKnopf »
 

Offline JimKnopfTopic starter

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 181
  • Country: 00
Re: HTI HT-H8 has a HT-301 inside
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2024, 06:54:50 pm »
I tested the HT-301 inside the HT-H8 on a PC. I didn't have a matching USB-C FPC cable with USB-C connector on it like on the original HT-301.

I soldered flying wires to the FPC-Connector, a testpoint and a ground surface and used a USB-C breakout board to connect to PC. Works like a charm. Linux found the camera as 1514:001 Actel T3-317-13 device.

On Windows i tested with IRCAM Thermal Viewer.
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf