Author Topic: I'm buying a Infrared Camera - please help  (Read 2887 times)

Online tv84Topic starter

• Super Contributor
I'm buying a Infrared Camera - please help
« on: January 03, 2020, 05:17:08 pm »
Hi all,

Today i'm asking the forum for advice on buying an infrared camera (thermal imager). First time in this Section of the forum...

My target would be a handheld, at least 320x240 resolution, with a max price around 500-600 Euros (or USD).

No specific task for it. Just as another toy to inspect electric equipments, house cooling, etc...

A quick search on the web lead me to the Perfect Prime IR0019 but I have no experience in this field and would deeply appreciate your opinions, suggestions or experiences.

BTW, I also find interesting a FLIR E4 modded to E8 (i love these upgrades... ;) )... Is this better than my previous scenario or just not worthy the extra cash?

TIA

Offline RBsonic

• Regular Contributor
Re: I'm buying a Infrared Camera - please help
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2020, 05:45:50 pm »
If you can work with USB dongle, I would recomand T3Pro or HT-301. They both have same hardware and cost about 600 Euro on aliexpress. Their advantages is a big 13mm lens, 384x288 sensor resolution and 25Hz framerate. But they can work only with android smartphone. You can easy find some reviews for these thermal cameras in this forum.

« Last Edit: January 03, 2020, 05:52:20 pm by RBsonic »

The following users thanked this post: tv84

Offline Bill W

• Super Contributor
    • Fire TICS
« Reply #2 on: January 04, 2020, 11:09:02 pm »
If you are looking for a full camera, and don't mind a bit of a project you could also consider eBay second hand fire cameras.
Several have teardowns on here, and also a few 'tear ups' making cameras from the internals after binning the cases.

regards
Bill

Online tv84Topic starter

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2020, 10:40:27 am »