Author Topic: Thermal Camera Purchase Advice  (Read 2877 times)

Offline eerocketmanTopic starter

• Contributor
Thermal Camera Purchase Advice
« on: August 09, 2017, 07:05:43 pm »
Hey everyone I am currently in the process of buying a thermal camera for work. I am a test engineer so the camera will be used for debugging PCB thermally and large machines. I do not have a lot of experience with these cameras my soft budget is about 1500 USD but if I can justify it can stretch up 2500 USD.

Any advice on where I can start and or some recommendations?!

Thanks!!

Offline nidlaX

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Thermal Camera Purchase Advice
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2017, 05:10:16 am »
There is a forum member named homestea who is currently selling a FLIR A65 with broken sync port for $2000 (or less if you haggle a little). It is a 640x512 resolution camera with GigE Vision output. If you're talking bang for your buck, you probably will not find a better deal for a high resolution camera with decent close focus capability and a plethora of built-in color palettes and measurements.

If you must buy new, then you will probably be limited to QVGA resolution cameras only, and you will have a lot of options for $1500 - $2500 USD. You should first decide whether or not you need a portable unit as that will narrow down your options significantly.

The following users thanked this post: eerocketman

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2017, 05:46:08 pm »
Thank you for your response. It does have to be a portable solution. Currently my top consideration is the Flir EX series. Could you recommend a better solution in the 1500 to 2500 price range?

Offline simingx

• Contributor
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2017, 11:43:49 am »
Keysight still has a bunch of U5855A's for sale: http://www.ebay.com/itm/Keysight-Used-U5855A-TrueIR-Thermal-Camera-Imager-350-degree-Celsius-Agilent-/172816210431?epid=1474647678&hash=item283ca619ff:g:B14AAOSwooRZixIZ