Author Topic: Off topic but food for thought ;) + my Gofundme  (Read 11698 times)

Offline globoy

• Regular Contributor
Re: Off topic but food for thought ;) + my Gofundme
« Reply #25 on: November 23, 2021, 10:00:30 pm »
Fraser, I'm mostly a lurker here and you and I have only had one [pleasant] exchange but I appreciate your contributions to this forum and your expertise.  Hopefully the few american bucks I threw over the pond are still accepted in the UK :-)

Your slight lament is shared by contributors to the internet and developers of open-source software across the world.  IMHO the advertisement supported web is to blame.  People expect things they find online to be free.  What I say isn't a complaint because I think the internet of today is truly amazing and useful, despite some ugly aspects.  Alan Kay's Dynabook became a reality...  I'm an engineer who has shared quite a number of my personal designs as open-source (including several thermal imaging camera designs) and I've come be believe that unless one puts a price on things a-priori, one shouldn't expect to be compensated.  It's just the nature of the beast.  We do it for the love of the thing or maybe fame.  I guess sites like Patreon and youtube (and gofundme) are ways to monetize knowledge but then - I think - you have to become and entertainer as well and create an entertaining experience for those you are trying to reach.  Maybe your future is on youtube.  At least thermal imaging cameras make pretty pictures!

Anyway, I hope you won't become discouraged.  This forum is a treasure, thanks to you and many others.

The following users thanked this post: Fraser

Offline CatalinaWOW

• Super Contributor
« Reply #26 on: November 24, 2021, 12:32:00 am »