Author Topic: Palette Generator - Free tool to create thermal palettes for FLIR Tools  (Read 10161 times)

Offline MyThermalWorldTopic starter

• Contributor
    • Palette Generator
First of all I'll introduce my self. I'm a software developer with a high interest in thermography. I'm working on a few private projects with this thermal interest (Lepton raspberry pi camera, thermal analytic tool...) and I'm sharing one of them here now - the Palette Generator.

The Palette Generator is a tool to make it intuitive to create thermal color palettes to use in FLIR Tools. It started with that I wanted more palettes than what FLIR Tools provided and started to create a simple tool to make this.  When implemented FLIR Atlas SDK, the functionality increased. The first BETA was released in March 2016, and version 1.0 was released December 2016. Version 1.1 was just released now.

Download: https://bitbucket.org/napalmy/palette-generator-binary/downloads/

Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/mythermalworld/
Demo video from beta stage:

(note: it's changed a lot since then)

So what is the Palette Generator and what can it do?
It's primary task is to create custom thermal palettes for use in FLIR Tools. You simply adds colors to the color list and setts the colors position in the palette in % where 0% is the coldest and 100% is the warmest. The program then calculates all colors in between each color added to the list so the colors gradually transitioned between each added color. Example adding black to 0% and white to 100% will create a grayscale palette. Adding red to 50% will make the palette gradually transit from black -> red -> white.

To make it easier to fine tune the colors, I created the Graph Editor where the colors are added and modified by modifying the RGB channels as graphs. This is a very useful tool to tune, smooth the color transition and play with different colors.