Author Topic: Problems with outside acquisition of thermal images  (Read 1528 times)

Offline filipefTopic starter

• ZeroPoster
Problems with outside acquisition of thermal images
« on: October 18, 2016, 07:00:33 pm »
Hello everyone,

I have a project of thermal characterization of tank walls.
My problem:
I performed two in site measurement, the first one (Image1_good_contrast.png) I got perfect images from the tank wall, it`s very clear the temperature difference between the white and black painted part of the wall. This difference is what I want to see.

In the second image I got a 'blurred' response (Image2_bad_contrast.png). And it`s not possible to see the black painted line with the contrast we got in the first image.

The second day was windy and much more humid day than the first. The image is focused I can ensure that. Someone already had this problem?

As I studied about termography I should see clearly the difference between white and black paints due to the difference in the emissivity, right?

I look forward for answers and possible discussions.
Thankyou all for the attention.

ps.: sorry for the non-native english =D

Filipe
« Last Edit: October 19, 2016, 12:07:32 pm by filipef »

Offline Fraser

• Super Contributor
Re: Problems with outside acquisition of thermal images
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2016, 07:11:00 pm »
Your two images have very different temperature spans. Such can create very different images.

The dark area absorbs radiant heat from the sun and this can cause local heat conduction into the lower emissivity area adjacent. As such, with a small span you can see transmitted energy blurring of high/low emissivity borders.

Humidity can effect thermal imaging to some degree but I do not think this is the issue here.

Fraser
If I have helped you please consider a donation : https://gofund.me/c86b0a2c

Offline Fraser

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2016, 07:19:26 pm »