Author Topic: Thermal imaging while getting EM-measurements (full RF+antenna system)  (Read 931 times)

Offline GTheisTopic starter

• Contributor
Hi,

I am very new with thermals. I've, however, to not only provide separate measurements from the chips I'm using (which have thermal sensors built-in) but also from the different parts and the assembly of the system. So what my supervisors (who know even less than me from thermal measurement) asked me is a concurrent measurement of EM characteristics from the whole system (Transceiver+antenna) and thermals, which I would need to chose a proper camera setup and justify why to buy it. Can anyone point me references about the measurement techniques I'd need to use?

Even further, I might need to provide the thermal measurement of the heatsink chosen (only the heatsink) to validate the measurement setup and datasheet. Can anyone point me what I would need for this?

Thank you in advance

Offline Vipitis

• Frequent Contributor
  • aspiring thermal photography enthusiast
Re: Thermal imaging while getting EM-measurements (full RF+antenna system)
« Reply #1 on: November 29, 2020, 10:34:29 pm »
you are probably better off with a thermocouple or two.

Looking at a heatsink with a thermal camera doesn't tell you much. There is reflectivity- and therefore emissivity issues. Heat links lose heat by conducting it to nearby air. Not radiation.

Offline bap2703

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2020, 08:32:54 am »
To be more specific :

- heatsinks are typically made of high thermal conductivity material (usually metals) to move the heat from source to sink (usually air) with the least possible of thermal resistance
- high thermal conductivity usually have low emissivity => they radiate way less infrared energy than a blackbody. Worse, that emissivity is hard to precisely know = it's hard to relate the infrared flux you measure to the surface temperature.