Author Topic: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300  (Read 26592 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #50 on: October 26, 2023, 04:56:38 pm »
Ok seen the J16, do you have the specs of the connector ?





EDIT : Ok i think i found it : JST SH1.0 6pin



Found a PL2303 : But have a question, i've read some pages on the subject and seems there are ... REAL RS232 levels (like 12V/5V), RS232 levels (like 5/3.3V).. i'm kind lost here, the PL2303 seems to be ok to connect to the C200 right ? It got RS232 levels at 3.3V or 5.5V, which voltage is the good one for the C200 board ?



Or maybe this one which is able to do far more : CP2102

1912332-2
« Last Edit: October 27, 2023, 08:59:27 am by Honusnap »
 

Offline jetpad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #51 on: October 27, 2023, 01:45:26 pm »
My solution was to solder one of these

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07PDQKHJ2/

to a little scrap connector I had. Then connecting that to

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0BG2BPVXV/

That connects to

    https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B074VN9ZG4/

Which plugs into my MacBook. Just a temporary setup while it is disassembled.
 
The following users thanked this post: Honusnap

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #52 on: October 28, 2023, 09:38:26 am »
Hello Jet,

Good, SH1.0 connector confirmed  ^-^, i would like to avoid the DB9 connector cause i haven't got any  :), i bought the PL2303 and the CP2102 (which will help in my RS485 projects anyway), and a bunch of SH1.0 connectors .. should be ok...
 

Offline jetpad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #53 on: November 01, 2023, 09:44:39 pm »
Ok, I was able to get the firmware loaded back on the SC240N thanks to Manawyrm. Lots of things tripped me up since this was a little out of my norm. The two main ones were: 1) The RX connection on the serial cable wasn't working so I thought the camera was ignoring me and 2) I wasn't pressing the spacebar fast enough to interrupt U-boot.

Now, after I put it all back together, I realized it wasn't displaying the correct hi, low and center temperatures correctly. It's displaying -273.1 C for all three. The thermal image looks right, it's just that the temperatures never change.

Do I need to do some sort of calibration? Has anyone else encounter this?

 

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #54 on: November 08, 2023, 06:33:04 pm »
Hello,

I think i've read something about calibration being specific to each device (obviously), isn't there a menu to calibrate ..? I searched but did not find infomation while i think i've seen something about this...
About the reviving of your device, what did you flashed ..? The whole firmware through the firmware script, or just some files ?
Cause nobody seems to have the firmware i have on my device .. (chinese one) and so i got no source, appart from what seems to be a partial firmware (4 or 5 files).
 

Offline povlhp

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: dk
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #55 on: November 10, 2023, 07:37:39 am »
I can see that there is a solder free way to copy files to the Infiray C210, do anybody know if this works for this series as well ?
I have the Vevor SC240M aka C200 Pro (video recording and normal cam as well) - And if so, does somebody have an original usbdisksettings.sh or whatever I am going to replace ?
https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/infiray-c210-thermal-camera-review/msg4368193/#msg4368193
 

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #56 on: November 29, 2023, 08:59:44 am »
Hello Jet,
Did you suceed calibrating your device ?
I'm in contact with Infiray and for my device the guy said i ned to send it back for flashing firmware again .. AND recalibrate the device, they also added that they need something called a dark mater to calibrate, it's something the temperature is well known.
But i suppose we can calibrate it with something else if we do not need extreme precision afterall.

About your SC240N, how did you flash the firmware ? What tools and procedure did you follow ?

I need to flash my C200 Pro (aka SC240M), if someone got a SC240M OR a C200 Pro firmware .. i would love to have it.

Thanks .. :D
 

Offline jetpad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #57 on: December 01, 2023, 08:17:04 pm »
No it's still not back to the original state because I guess it needs to be recalibrated and I don't know if that is possible without sending it back. You've probably gotten farther along on that aspect since I haven't contacted Vevor about it yet. But it does display a thermal image, just without all the nice temperatures on it (and probably not in a calibrated way). Sorry, I don't have a copy of the SC240M firmware, just the SC240N. I don't remember the exact commands I used to get the firmware back on but it was something like this. Please verify each one before using them as I'm sure they need to be each customized for your setup. These were run on my MacBook after getting the serial cable working between the SC240N and the MacBook.

cd sbin
fdisk -l /dev/mmcblk0

diskutil list

diskutil unmountDisk /dev/disk4

sudo dd if=/Users/jetpad/Downloads/vevor-sc240n-firmware/vevor-sc240n-emmc.img of=/dev/rdisk4 bs=1m

; This command took about 10 minutes for me.
sudo dd if=path_to_image.img of=/dev/rdiskX bs=1m

diskutil eject /dev/disk4

/dev/mmcblk1

dd if=/dev/mmcblk1 of=/dev/mmcblk0 bs=4M
« Last Edit: December 01, 2023, 08:24:57 pm by jetpad »
 
The following users thanked this post: Honusnap

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #58 on: December 02, 2023, 07:04:25 pm »
I checked both Topdon TC004 and TC005 firmware, they are identical BUT 2 files :

iray-hisi-camera-new
iraytek_softer_01_new

S90start seems different at first but is in fact differently organised.

Those 2 firmwares got different numbers :
TC004 : V1.4.7.8(109)
TC005 :  V1.4.7.8(105)

I also got a C200 PRo V1.3.8(131), S90start is the same as TC004 and TC005, iray-hisi-camera-new and iraytek_softer_01_new are also present and diferent then the TC004 or TC005.

Nobody got a Vevor firmware ?
 

Offline Gridstop

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 42
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #59 on: December 03, 2023, 04:41:27 pm »
I picked up one of these and am pretty happy with it so far, haven't opened it up yet though. I wanted to do it all at once when I put together the macro lens.

If anybody has used one of those 18mm CO2 laser lenses with it (such as the 3D print tsys posted on the first page) what focal length did you use? I'm not  sure if it's as simple as 'use a 5cm FL to get a 5cm minimum focal length' since I have no idea what optics are inside the camera otherwise. And the lenses are $25 each or so, so I'd prefer not to guess several times.
 

Offline cat99

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #60 on: December 05, 2023, 11:02:23 am »
No it's still not back to the original state because I guess it needs to be recalibrated and I don't know if that is possible without sending it back.

not sure if it's relevant to your situation, but this amazon review mentions a possible calibration menu (I didn't try it)
Quote
I might have accidentally found the calibration menu, try this with your own risk, the menu is in simplified chinese for the most part:
1. hit "Back", hold "up" for one second, wait for one second, then hold "down" for roughly 3 sec, the calibration menu should appear, exit any time with the "Back" button.
2. hit "Back", hold "right" for one second, wait for one second, then hold "left" for roughly 3 sec, some kind of factory menu will show up, maybe for firmware update?
 

Offline cat99

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #61 on: December 06, 2023, 06:58:42 am »
Does anyone know if there is a trick to updating the firmware on a unit that is running an older firmware?

I bought a topdon tc004 recently, when comparing it to videos online, my device is missing the "usb mode" menu entry, always running in mass storage mode.
The device is running firmware 1.2.1(1110), which seems older than the 1.4.x most people are running.
I tried updating to the current 1.4.7.8(109) but have not been able to get it to work.

I followed these steps:
put sdcard in device
tell it to format the sdcard
download the firmware rar file, unpack the contents including a zip file, unpack the zip file
connect the device to a computer
copy the folder that was contained in the zip file and rename it to "update"
disconnect from computer
hold right for 10sec, then while still holding right begin holding left, update screen appears

this is where I get stuck, instead of a list beginning with "update" and "update_dat", "update" is missing and it only has "update_dat"
if I select "update_dat" it responds in chinese:
Quote
sd card detected, updated started
no update file detected

I also found a link on archive.org for the older firmware, 1.4.7.3, but this failed in the same way.

I'm thinking the problem is most likely one of these:
option1- they have some older units that can't function in webcam mode, maybe can't be updated, and wanted to dump them on black friday
option2- the update process on older firmwares was different than on the newer ones, and the older process isn't documented anywhere
option3- I'm doing something wrong
« Last Edit: December 06, 2023, 07:07:17 am by cat99 »
 

Offline federigo

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 4
  • Country: it
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #62 on: December 11, 2023, 08:17:47 am »
Does someone with this device have this problem?

I know some kind of vignetting is considered normal, but it was my impression that the vignette is "colder". What I noticed during use is that I have some kind of "warm halo" on left/bottom side of the image. This is less noticable depending on NUC/range of what I have in view (though it is still noticeable by rotating the camera), but when pointing to a uniform surface is quite evident (picture attached of the camera pointed at a paper sheet).

The hottest point is always in the bottom-left side corner and the temperature difference between that spot and the coldest spot is always in the range of 1.8-2.2 °C



Can this considered "normal" or do I have a defective unit?

Also, the unit didn't come with any emissivity table in any form, it's set at 0.95 / 25 °C ambient temp / 0.5 m distance, how important is it to set these parameters if I don't care (too much) about absolute temperature measurements? I'm more interested in temperature differences and a rough indication of the actual temperature (if it's 30 °C instead of 35 °C is not important).

Thanks.
 

Offline jetpad

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 6
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #63 on: December 22, 2023, 10:04:14 pm »
Quote
not sure if it's relevant to your situation, but this amazon review mentions a possible calibration menu (I didn't try it)

Thanks. That does look very promising! I messed around with it but I was having trouble translating those menu options and wasn't able to figure it out. I'm going to keep trying.
 

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #64 on: December 23, 2023, 12:14:07 pm »
Use google translate camera mode on your android phone .. easy to translate your IR screen.
 

Offline Honusnap

  • Contributor
  • Posts: 22
  • Country: fr
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #65 on: December 24, 2023, 03:30:14 pm »
Allright, after some ... annoying discussions with Infiray, and a stuck boot C200, i was able to install a Frankestein firmware based on a TC005, my device is working nice today and even better ... coming from a Chinese only device i now have a fully international device.

Infiray asked me 100€ to provide me with an international firmware while my device was Chinese only.... what a bunch of scammer.
« Last Edit: December 26, 2023, 03:09:11 pm by Honusnap »
 
The following users thanked this post: Fraser

Offline bap2703

  • Regular Contributor
  • *
  • Posts: 200
  • Country: io
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #66 on: January 15, 2024, 05:25:44 pm »
Does anyone know if there is a trick to updating the firmware on a unit that is running an older firmware?

I bought a topdon tc004 recently, when comparing it to videos online, my device is missing the "usb mode" menu entry, always running in mass storage mode.
The device is running firmware 1.2.1(1110), which seems older than the 1.4.x most people are running.
I tried updating to the current 1.4.7.8(109) but have not been able to get it to work.


On the software page
https://www.topdon.com/pages/pro-down?fuzzy=TC004
I see two versions. On for devices with four digits (V1.4.7.9) and one for devices with three digits (V1.2.7).

It seems you tried to put a 4 digit on a 3 digit.
Interestingly their version numbers without dots are reversed,
4 digits with dots = 3 digit number, 3 digits with dots = 4 digit number, as highlighted in your post.  :palm:
 

Offline brc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #67 on: January 24, 2024, 06:50:11 am »
If anybody has used one of those 18mm CO2 laser lenses with it (such as the 3D print tsys posted on the first page) what focal length did you use? I'm not  sure if it's as simple as 'use a 5cm FL to get a 5cm minimum focal length' since I have no idea what optics are inside the camera otherwise. And the lenses are $25 each or so, so I'd prefer not to guess several times.

In this post, jairbj said they used a 20 mm diameter, 50.8mm focal length lens: https://www.eevblog.com/forum/thermal-imaging/infiray-c210-thermal-camera-review/msg3698872/#msg3698872
 

Offline cat99

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 3
  • Country: us
Re: Vevor SC240N / TopDon TC004 / InfiRay C200 / Hisilicon HI3516DV300
« Reply #68 on: January 31, 2024, 09:34:21 am »
Does anyone know if there is a trick to updating the firmware on a unit that is running an older firmware?

I bought a topdon tc004 recently, when comparing it to videos online, my device is missing the "usb mode" menu entry, always running in mass storage mode.
The device is running firmware 1.2.1(1110), which seems older than the 1.4.x most people are running.
I tried updating to the current 1.4.7.8(109) but have not been able to get it to work.


On the software page
https://www.topdon.com/pages/pro-down?fuzzy=TC004
I see two versions. On for devices with four digits (V1.4.7.9) and one for devices with three digits (V1.2.7).

It seems you tried to put a 4 digit on a 3 digit.
Interestingly their version numbers without dots are reversed,
4 digits with dots = 3 digit number, 3 digits with dots = 4 digit number, as highlighted in your post.  :palm:

Interesting, I checked archive.org to confirm none of the 3-digit vs 4-digit info was on that page last time I checked it.
A friend of mine who has the same device emailed Topdon asking about this and they replied saying units that run four-digit firmwares are the old hardware revision, three-digit firmwares are for the newer hardware revision.

I just installed 1.2.7 and it still doesn't have a "usb mode" to toggle between mass storage mode and webcam mode.

However after updating it I ran cheese (webcam tester) and was able to get video from the camera for around 5 seconds or so before it glitched out, which is encouraging, so maybe it just appears both as a mass storage device and a slightly non-standard webcam at the same time on these "newer" hardware revision models.

There is also a "super-resolution" option now, I looked at it briefly it appears to try and remove some of the macroblock style artifacts, and may be doing a sharpening filter of some sort.
Still images using "super-resolution" do generally look more asthetically appealing, I can't tell yet if it's a net positive when looking at the live video.
 

Offline brc

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 2
  • Country: us
 


Share me

Digg  Facebook  SlashDot  Delicious  Technorati  Twitter  Google  Yahoo
Smf