Author Topic: 8-bit DRAM questions  (Read 807 times)

Offline RichardcavellTopic starter

• Contributor
8-bit DRAM questions
« on: March 28, 2023, 11:58:11 am »
Hi. I’m an amateur electronics enthusiast with an interest in retro computing. I found a datasheet for a DRAM chip used in the TRS-80 Color Computer.

https://orchidsound.com/mcm4517p12-dram-16-384-bit-16k-x-1-120ns-pdip-16-motorola/

1. It uses 14 mW when in standby. What exactly puts the chip in “standby”?

2. The chip has “Early write common I/O output capability”. What does this mean?

3. It has 64K compatible, 128-cycle 2 ms refresh. What does 64K compatible refer to?

4. It has “hidden” refresh. Does this mean that the output on Q remains latched/valid even if you modify the address and assert /RAS to do a refresh?

Thanks,

Richard

Offline srb1954

• Super Contributor
  • Retired Electronics Design Engineer
Re: 8-bit DRAM questions
« Reply #1 on: March 29, 2023, 12:59:58 am »
Hi. I’m an amateur electronics enthusiast with an interest in retro computing. I found a datasheet for a DRAM chip used in the TRS-80 Color Computer.

https://orchidsound.com/mcm4517p12-dram-16-384-bit-16k-x-1-120ns-pdip-16-motorola/

1. It uses 14 mW when in standby. What exactly puts the chip in “standby”?
When a memory cycle is complete and both the RAS and CAS strobes return to their inactive levels.
2. The chip has “Early write common I/O output capability”. What does this mean?
Not particularly clear from the datasheet but the timing diagrams show that input write data is required, and presumably latched, very early in a memory cycle whereas the read output data only appears late on the memory cycle. This would allow the data input D and data output Q to be commoned and connected to a bidirectional data buffer. 
3. It has 64K compatible, 128-cycle 2 ms refresh. What does 64K compatible refer to?
Compatible with later generation 64K (65636x1) DRAMs