Author Topic: Time Code Generator - Wire Wrap  (Read 3678 times)

Offline pamperchuTopic starter

• Contributor
Time Code Generator - Wire Wrap
« on: December 14, 2018, 05:13:26 pm »
I got this device a few months ago and finally got around to opening it up to do some repairs. surprised to find that its all point to point wire wrap with ~100 TTL  chips. amazing!
I will post the video of the repair work later...

more pictures;
https://imgur.com/a/JrTsdWF

Offline rrinker

• Super Contributor
Re: Time Code Generator - Wire Wrap
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2018, 06:36:43 pm »
 As Dave would say, a thing of beauty and a joy forever. There's something artistic and pleasing looking at that wire wrap side. I guess that's why I'm an engineer and not an artist, since I find that artistic  :-DD

Offline duak

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2018, 11:30:41 pm »
I worked with Datum TCRs in satellite ground stations in the late 70's but never had one apart.  One of my responsibiliities was to design and test boards for customized systems.  It was all done on wire wrap with the common boards converted to PCB as we built more systems.  Our boards were mostly single sided, ie. the WW pins were on the same side as the chips.  Less density, but easier to figure out.  I designed and built an 8088 with graphics for myself on some used WW boards.  I should see if it still boots up.

Do you have a build date on this one?  Would you know what sort of system it came from?

Cheers,

Offline tpowell1830

• Frequent Contributor
  • Peacefully retired from industry, active in life
« Reply #3 on: December 17, 2018, 01:53:28 am »
At first glance I thought you said time warp generator... and I was right!  :-DD  :-+

I did a bit of wire wrapping myself in the late '70s. The hand tool was okay, but the electric one was super speed.
PEACE===>T

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2018, 03:52:59 pm »
turns out it didn't need any repair, I just had the switch set to stop.