Author Topic: Help with homebrew 64k x 1 RAM arrangement  (Read 6065 times)

Offline RetroPhase2015Topic starter

• Contributor
Help with homebrew 64k x 1 RAM arrangement
« on: February 13, 2015, 11:48:15 pm »
Hi,
 I've been having some trouble registering and then my post was lost when my login timed out so I'll make this post a bit shorter.
Basically, I've been doing hobby electronics for a year and I am making my first Z80 homebrew system based on the schematics for the ZAP computer in the book 'Build Your Own Z80 Computer' by Steve Ciarcia.

The design uses Intel 2114 chips, which are 1K x 4 bit, arranged in pairs. The ZAP in it's test configuration has 2K provided by four chips and can be expanded to 8k.
It's taken me six months to gather together the parts for this build as, being a beginner, I wanted to copy the plans directly. However, I've now decided to make the system into something a little more useful and as such have bought a tube of eight M3764A-15 64kx1 RAM chips.

I understand that eight of these chips would make a 64Kb RAM size. I also understand that without paging techniques the Z80 can only address a total of any combination of RAM and ROM.
The 64k x 1 RAM has a different number of pins to the 1k x 4, and I was wondering if someone could point me in the direction of some example schematics for how to connect the M3764A-15 RAM to a Z80. Most of what I have found has Motorola chips from the 6800 family which isn't helping.

As a beginner hobbyist, I'm not sure I want to get into paging memory just yet - I suppose with the 2K 2816 EEPROM I have (drop in replacement for the book's 2716), I could use 48K or 56K of the RAM chips?

I have attached my schematic, which has three 8T97's attached to the Z80 and the Intel 2114 RAM, directly based on drawings in Ciarcia's book.
Any help would be appreciated.

Offline elgonzo

• Supporter
Re: Help with homebrew 64k x 1 RAM arrangement
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2015, 12:17:14 am »