Author Topic: Meter for Low Current but High Voltage Advice?  (Read 2974 times)

Offline strokebowTopic starter

Meter for Low Current but High Voltage Advice?
« on: July 21, 2017, 11:46:35 am »
Hello I'm trying to measure dc current.
Within the given circuit I have high voltage (maximum 5 kV) but typically low current. Maximum: 10s of mA. Typical: 0.1 - 1 mA

Any ideas or suggestions would be most welcome?

Thank you

Offline MosherIV

• Super Contributor
Re: Meter for Low Current but High Voltage Advice?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2017, 11:56:13 am »
Hi

Welcom to the EEV forum.

Please give us more information:

What is your level of experience/competance?

What equipment do you have access to?

(We need this information to help guage how safe it will be for you to measure this).

« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2017, 02:05:52 pm »
Hi Thank you,

I've been working in the electronics industry for the last 3 years and as a hobbyist for a lot longer with a degree in electronics.

We have a decent budget so I'm looking if there are any off the shelf solutions? Perhaps someone can recommend a product. My searches haven't been successful yet.,
Failing that we will build something.

Thank you

Offline Rerouter

• Super Contributor
  • Question Everything... Except This Statement
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2017, 02:23:29 pm »
Ok, what current can the supply source. and how much series resistance can your device cope with on its supply, you may be better off using a multimeter with a high voltage divider probe (correctly rated), over a high voltage resistance. essentially low side sensing, the correctly rated probe is just to cover all edge cases so people nearby are not showered in exploded parts of multimeter if it shorts a 5KV supply with some current drive when its input protection tries to clamp it.