Author Topic: Agilent U1253B OLED Slowly Going Bad  (Read 7204 times)

Offline Twenty4PackTopic starter

• Contributor
Agilent U1253B OLED Slowly Going Bad
« on: February 01, 2018, 05:54:02 pm »
Has anyone had an Agilent U1253B DMM OLED go dim over several months, then bought a replacement OLED, fixing the problem?

I have an out-of-warranty Agilent/Keysight U1253B with a display that is barely usable.  I've read in a couple of places (here and Keysight) that a replacement OLED is available, then didn’t see if the replacement fixed the problem.  Only one post I’ve found mentioned a dim display, the other bad OLED wasn’t dim, it was dead.  There are few hours on this meter, so in my tiny world the issue should be considered a manufacturing defect.  In Keysight's world, it's cause to replace my working meter with everything working except a bad display, with a new meter for ONLY $314 (or so).

I’m a hobbyist who doesn't want to afford spending another $300+ on a new meter – I need a quality multimeter that will work for a long time as a Fluke meter would.  (I bought this one because it had the cool OLED and a high count).  This meter cost a lot of money, and I chose it over cheaper models because I believed I was dealing with a reputable company who would unquestionably stand behind their products.  They won’t.  I called their technical department asking the same questions and when asking about the chances of a replacement OLED fixing my problem, was sharply/snobbily told "You sure it's the display?"  That doesn’t look bad now – too bad I can't convey the snobbish attitude he presented.  I've heard about Keysight's poor customer service and hoped I wouldn't experience it for myself.  One good part is that my initial message was answered quickly and professionally.  Too bad the initial contact message people said they couldn't help.  I think if those folks could have helped, they would.

Thanks in advance for any info that will help.