Author Topic: Is Altium total crap or what?  (Read 6036 times)

Offline TSRTopic starter

Is Altium total crap or what?
« on: July 12, 2023, 07:13:41 am »
Dear All,

Just so you know, I'm venting. The alternative is throwing something at my screen, but that gets expensive.

So, here we go....

I've been using Altium for going on 9 years and while it has an easier interface than Cadence or (de)Mentor, it has so many bugs, year after year after year after year, that it makes me puke.

Here's my latest discovery (see screen shot below): When routing a trace some genius at Altium decided that it was OK to place the trace off-grid. Not by something visible, say half a mil, but by some infinitesimal amount (in this case 1/1000 of a mil) so that you can't see it, but it won't fit, or shift itself, between two other traces that have the proper clearance to let it through.

So my question is: WHO IS THE FUCKING MORON AT ALTIUM WHO PROGRAMMED THIS SHIT?!?

Honestly. I understand that software "engineers" are not particularly gifted people. They chose software because hardware is hard and they simply didn't have the brains for it. So they start work for places like Altium or Microsoft and they have no idea that their sub-standard IQ results in hours upon hours of totally wasted time by others who take their jobs seriously.

I would estimate that in the past 9 years I have spent no less that 500 man-hours chasing down and going around idiotic Altium bugs (for this one I have to manually move the trace 1/1000 mil over so it's on-grid and fits between the other two traces that are also on-grid). Take my experience and multiply it by the hundreds of people using this crap software and you have some serious wasted time, money, nerves, etc. All because some little twit at Altium didn't bother to do the job right.