Author Topic: Can Someone Explain What All This Stuff Is?  (Read 2107 times)

Offline Max HoldcroftTopic starter

• Contributor
Can Someone Explain What All This Stuff Is?
« on: May 23, 2024, 11:24:22 am »
Hey all,
I'm looking at the datasheet for the ISP_BLE_5S1057 (https://www.insightsip.com/fichiers_insightsip/pdf/ble/ISP1507/isp_ble_DS1507.pdf), specifically the AX variant, and when looking at the example they provide I am completely dumfounded by all the extra stuff they have on the schematic. I'm very new to the whole world of PCB design, so if someone could help I would greatly appreciate it!
I've attached a screenshot of what I mean.
Thank you everyone!
Max :)

Offline CaptDon

• Super Contributor
Re: Can Someone Explain What All This Stuff Is?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2024, 01:28:32 pm »
If you don't know why all of that extra support 'stuff' is required (like power supply decoupling, master crystal clock oscillator, power pins, GPIO) then why are you even looking at such a complex I.C.??? If you feel you have a need to design that I.C. into your project you would already have a firm grip on the ancillary support required for that I.C. to operate. You need some kind of beginner level FPGA/CPLD/MCU/DSP book. Why would you be tasked to design a PCB around an I.C. you don't understand? The exact layout of the power traces and placement of the decoupling capacitors is both an art and science in itself which you will also need to understand and that pertains to the simplest of the logic families to get stable results.
Collector and repairer of vintage and not so vintage electronic gadgets and test equipment. What's the difference between a pizza and a musician? A pizza can feed a family of four!! Classically trained guitarist. Sound engineer.

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2024, 01:31:55 pm »
Hey CaptDon,