Author Topic: Choosing a CRO: Hitachi V-222 or TEK 465  (Read 3362 times)

Offline reese69Topic starter

Choosing a CRO: Hitachi V-222 or TEK 465
« on: April 06, 2023, 01:08:52 am »
Hi everyone, Thank you for your collective knowledge.  I am just starting out.  I plan to tinker mostly with audio gear.  Eventually I will probably get a digital oscilloscope, probably an SDS1104X-E.  But for now I’d like to get a CRO to practice on before spending that much cash.  I am interested in two scopes that are listed on ebay locally. 

One is a Hitachi V-222, listed as being in excellent working condition, with probes and power cable.  It is listed as bidding starting at $100.00, with no bids so far.  The other is a Tektronix 465, listed as parts only, with two probes.  The pictures of the TEK show only two horizontal traces and seller says no further testing done.  A sticker on the back is barely legible, but seems to say “Calibration: Standoff ___ ___ Broken.”  It is listed for $195, but the seller has offered it to me for $160.

I am leaning toward the Hitachi.  I know it is a much less capable scope, being only 20 MHz.  But it seems to be well regarded on this forum.  I see that the TEK is very highly regarded here and is a much more powerful instrument.  But I am concerned that it will have problems that I am not equipped to handle.  I’d appreciate anyone’s thoughts.  Thank you!

Offline EEVblog

• Administrator
    • EEVblog
Re: Choosing a CRO: Hitachi V-222 or TEK 465
« Reply #1 on: April 06, 2023, 01:28:45 am »
The Hitachi is an excellent analog scope, Smaller, lighter, simpler, newer, so I'd go with that.
A "powerful" analog scope isn't much extra benefit these days, best to just get a cheap simple analog scope to begin with and then move to digital later. 20MHz is plenty useful.
Yes, the Tek's are fairly notrious for having issues, and given that it's older than the hitachi, there is way more chance the Hitachi works without issues.

This is $99 make an offer: