Author Topic: Confused about potentiometers (want to control 3 signals at the same time)  (Read 4907 times)

Offline dosTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
I'm just starting out with electronics, in the past few months I've taught myself how to solder by assembling the little Velleman kits they sell at Microcenter, etc. I decided it was time to give myself a "real" project and set out to build a supergun because I'm big into arcade games, and actually wanting to repair my own games and hardware is the reason I decided to learn, though I'm finding it's a fun hobby on it's own! Anyway, I'm a little confused about pots and thought I'd ask here since I can't really find the answer I'm looking for with google or asking in the various arcade-specific forums:

When most people build a supergun at home they use 3 linear pots for the analog video signal: one each for Red, Green, and Blue (arcade boards output pure RGB). People  typically use a resistance between 250-1Kohm. These pots are necessary because arcade games never output a standard brightness so the user has to be able to adjust the value when changing the game board, each one is different. This isn't to say some games have higher red values and some have higher green values, etc. The vast majority are uniformly brighter or darker. A professional/factory made supergun has only one brightness knob that allows you to easily adjust the brightness uniformly without tweaking each individual line. I'm just wondering what's the best way to implement this in my build. Do I just stick all three lines on a single pot? Do I need a triple gang pot? I've tried looking for triple gang linear pots with those specs and it seems like they don't exist (I've checked mouser, ebay, etc). Is there something else I'm missing here?