Author Topic: Create a fast Open circuit  (Read 285 times)

Offline Htow77Topic starter

Create a fast Open circuit
« on: May 14, 2024, 07:42:01 pm »
Hi,

I want the possibility to create a (quick) open circuit on a signal wire used for automotive CAN. Reason for all this is im an automotive technical trainer and want to simulate an intermittent harness or connector fault.

The function should be just like a momentary NC switch: The circuit is normally intact, with a fast push on the switch it becomes open and then back to closed again. While the switch function is working, the actual switching using a mechanical switch isn’t clean (Quick) enough.

An NC relay would also work but it’s to slow to react.

I would like to use a “transistor-like” component to achive a clean switching, but which component?
I’m looking for something I can control but is not affecting the actual circuit.

An opto coupler function would do, but again that would affect the circuit I want to make the intermittent open on. 

Is there any analogue component like an opto coupler but with an NC switch instead of the built in transistor??

:D

Grateful for any tips!

« Last Edit: May 14, 2024, 07:44:40 pm by Htow77 »

Offline BennoG

• Regular Contributor
Re: Create a fast Open circuit
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2024, 07:46:43 pm »
My opinion is that you can better use a relays.
Because that gives the nice dender (don't know English word) on the contacts when opening and closing.
They open and close not at once but make some high frequency contacts.
This is the same as a lose wire, only the wire is worse.

Benno

Offline Gyro

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2024, 07:59:27 pm »