Author Topic: Driving LED strips from dedicated audio amplifier  (Read 2416 times)

Offline FlyingMooseTopic starter

• Contributor
Driving LED strips from dedicated audio amplifier
« on: December 08, 2019, 02:38:50 am »
First of all, I would say I'm a bit above a beginner but still way below most of the people in this forum as far as electronics knowledge goes.  I've been watching EEVBlog for years so this was the first place I thought of to ask my question.

I'm working on a project for a disco (for a friend, not being paid).  I'm looking for a solution that's faster and better, not necessarily cheaper.  I don't have a lab or parts so I want something easy to do, I don't want to build from components if possible.

I've seen some sound-activated LED controllers but they all seem to just change color (on an RGB strip) in tune with the music, I don't see any that flash in tune with it.

I would like to have a large amount of blue LED strip lights (maybe 100 meters) flash in tune with the beat of the music.  I've seen a lot of circuits online but most of the comments say they're poorly designed for various reasons, and also they're probably not high enough power for so many LEDs.

I'm thinking that a good way to do this might be to have a dedicated audio amplifier to drive them.  My thoughts are to run the output of the amplifier through a rectifier, and then an appropriate amount of resistance, in series with the load.  I was also thinking it might be a good idea to include an appropriate light bulb in series to limit the current at the higher end to avoid blowing the LEDs during transient spikes (loud portions of the music) or maybe just the light bulb instead of resistors.

This will be a dedicated amplifier, not used to drive any speakers.  I can change the input (to emphasize the bass, for example).

The problems I can thing of from doing it this way are: