Author Topic: Elenco XP-720 Voltmeter  (Read 1798 times)

Offline madcitygeekTopic starter

Elenco XP-720 Voltmeter
« on: May 10, 2016, 12:47:51 am »
Okay, I'm a noob and I built myself an XP-720 power supply. It works well, tests within reasonable ranges. I had a great time building it, my 6-year-old son helped.

I'd like to add a pair of volt meters -- one for positive, one for negative. There seems to be ample room in the case -- I might be able to dremel out a couple holes.

I was looking at these displays from Adafruit -- https://www.adafruit.com/products/705 -- the "Mini 3-wire Volt Meter (0 - 99.9VDC)" I figured I could solder them in between the outputs of the LM317, wiring the "red, power" wire to the 5v output from the 7805.

Am I wrong? Is there a better way to add a meter?

Offline Dragonfly

• Contributor
Re: Elenco XP-720 Voltmeter
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2016, 03:14:01 am »
I don't see why that wouldn't work for the positive supply but you wouldn't be use this meter on the negative supply.  It's range is 0-99.9VDC so it can't measure negative voltage.

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2016, 03:17:24 am »
Duplicate response, see above!
« Last Edit: May 10, 2016, 03:20:24 am by rstofer »

Offline madcitygeekTopic starter

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2016, 03:28:17 am »
Good point. Could I wire it in backwards? That is, put two meters in and wire one to positive and one in backward for negative? Or use a switch to flip between them?

Offline Dragonfly

• Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 10, 2016, 04:02:39 am »