Author Topic: Ersa vs JBC for first soldering station  (Read 7541 times)

Offline hellzakkTopic starter

• Contributor
Ersa vs JBC for first soldering station
« on: December 19, 2016, 03:40:45 pm »
Hi all, im seeking opinion about the comparison between Ersa i-Con 1V (0IC1100V) and JBC CD-2BE
This will be my first station (i have sometimes soldered before with a very low low low cost one) but id like to buy something better and this 2 are in my price range.
Thanks you all for your opinions :)

Offline drakke

• Regular Contributor
Re: Ersa vs JBC for first soldering station
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2016, 06:03:22 pm »
I'm a beginner too and just bought a Hakko FX-888D. You can get it for less than the two models you are considering from http://www.batterfly.com.

The only problem is that there are many very, very good fakes out there and if you don't buy from a reputable seller there is a good chance you will get one.

Dave did a teardown video of a genuine and a fake. Search youtube for 'eevblog + hakko'.

Offline wilhelm

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2016, 06:54:06 pm »
I like my JBC CD-2D

Hakko is not that easy to find in Europe.

Offline KD0CAC John

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2016, 07:48:11 pm »
I have not used the Ersa but I do have multiples of JBC , Metcal , Hakko , Hakko copy .
Most of those used very good prices , even found great prices on new in the box - desoldering station NIB for $420 ,
the used stuff for not more than $150 .
Most of that on ebay , even the new JBC desoldering station .

Offline AndyC_772

• Super Contributor
  • Professional design engineer
    • Cawte Engineering | Reliable Electronics
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2016, 08:11:32 pm »
Assuming the JBC you're looking at is similar to my CD-2D, it's an excellent iron and will undoubtedly serve you well provided you choose appropriate tips for the job you're doing.