Author Topic: Help understanding Kirchoff's Voltage Law/Current Law  (Read 301 times)

Offline RichardcavellTopic starter

• Contributor
Help understanding Kirchoff's Voltage Law/Current Law
« on: April 30, 2024, 12:39:52 pm »
Hi.

I am a beginner attempting to understand Kirchoff's Voltage/Current Laws.  I'll try to describe this circuit, and you tell me if I'm right:

There is a cell on the left side producing 15 Volts.  The conventional current flows clockwise no matter which of the two vertical resistors the current goes through.  One path has the current flow through a 1k resistor then a 2k resistor (so 3k ohms total resistance).  The other path has the current flow through a total of 9k resistance.  The total voltage from V1 to the negative terminal via the 2k resistor is the same as the voltage as via the 3k and 5k resistors.

The current splits at point V1.  Some of it goes down the 2k resistor, and the rest down the 8k route.

The total resistance of everything to the right of the 1k resistor is 1/R = 1/(1/8k + 1/2k).  The total resistance is 1k + that amount.

Offline wasedadoc

• Super Contributor
Re: Help understanding Kirchoff's Voltage Law/Current Law
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2024, 02:44:57 pm »
Correct as far as you have gone.

Don't fall into the trap of "One path has the current flow through a 1k resistor then a 2k resistor (so 3k ohms total resistance).  The other path has the current flow through a total of 9k resistance." making you think you can calculate the current through each of those separately and then add them together to get the total current from the cell.

Offline bostonman

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 30, 2024, 02:57:07 pm »
This is a simple series/parallel.

Take the point farthest from the battery. The 3k and 5k are in series for a total resistance of 8k. Now redraw the circuit so an 8k is in parallel with the 2k. Take the parallel combination of 8k and 2k and that makes 1.6k.