Author Topic: How to drive FUTABA 18-BT-02GINK VFD  (Read 498 times)

Offline XploDTopic starter

How to drive FUTABA 18-BT-02GINK VFD
« on: March 09, 2024, 09:58:15 am »
I have a broken Denon AVR-X1300W receiver (dead digital board) so I'm trying to reuse everything else, the first point being the integrated Futaba 18-BT-02GINK VFD display. But I'm struggling to find which driver is inside and how to control it with Arduino. I tried to sniff the data using Bus Pirate v3.5 but it's not helping me much. I've attached everything I could find:

• schematics and details from Denon service manual
  • screenshots of data that I sniffed with BP

It has 18 segments and RESET, CS, CP and DATA pins for serial communication.

If you need better sniffing pictures, let me know how to do them as I'm a newbie. I recorded this using OpenBench LogicSniffer Client v0.9.7.2 with default settings (not touching anything). I can repeat the sniffing with specific details if needed.

Basically I just need to know how to drive this display using Arduino. For this I guess we first need to determine which driver is inside. And then if Arduino library or examples exist for it, that would be awesome. If not, I can do it manually as long as I know the protocol and how to control it.

So far I tried to Google all the possible VFD drivers and comparing communication examples with my sniffing results but I haven't find anything so far.

Also, if you have any other idea how to find out this info (contacting Futaba or someone), that would be a valuable info as well.

Thanks in advance!

Online pcprogrammer

• Super Contributor
Re: How to drive FUTABA 18-BT-02GINK VFD
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2024, 10:55:27 am »
It might not have a so called controller in it and you just write pixels or characters to it repeatedly.

Just do a test run with your arduino, but make sure that the voltages match. These displays need a high voltage to work and maybe VDD is also higher then what your arduino uses.