Author Topic: Is there an online service for looking up/cross referencing components  (Read 1305 times)

Offline tomoramTopic starter

• Contributor
I'm still fairly new to the world of electronics. While I'm getting better at the understanding and designing, I'm finding the locating and sourcing of parts a complete nightmare.

Current example: I'm following a design which requires a 1N1418 diode. This diode doesn't seem to exist in my usual online stores (in the UK). When I Google it I get a few datasheets but Google has mostly decided to replace the search with 1N4148.

My question: am I doing this the way everyone else does (i.e. searching Farnell, RS, Rapid, Mouser, etc + Google)? Or, is there some (not so) secret online cross-referencing database you all are using? I'd love to type in "1N1814" and get a list of typical uses, alternatives, etc. Also, being able to search something like TL074 and getting a summary of the differences between the variations (i.e. TL074ACN vs TL074CD vs TL074ID).

Offline bob91343

• Super Contributor
Re: Is there an online service for looking up/cross referencing components
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2020, 10:41:14 pm »
What I do is download a data sheet.  I have a lot of experience (some day so will you) and have a pretty good idea what might work.  If I am stumped I will post a question online and usually get a useful answer.

Back in the day there were substitution guides published but they no longer exist.

The 1N1418 appears to be a 10W 15V zener diode.  Those are readily available with other designations.  Try NTE5191A.

I also have some older publications that gives specs for thousands of old part numbers and I treasure those books.  So if you need info on some specific part, ask.
« Last Edit: December 21, 2020, 10:44:05 pm by bob91343 »

Online wraper

• Supporter
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2020, 10:43:54 pm »
I'm following a design which requires a 1N1418 diode.
I suspect it's a typo and actual part is 1N4148.