Author Topic: LC filtering for combined Vref/VDD of ADC  (Read 780 times)

Offline HwAoRrDkTopic starter

• Super Contributor
LC filtering for combined Vref/VDD of ADC
« on: April 26, 2024, 09:32:43 pm »
I am looking to use a Microchip MCP3202 ADC, but it does not have a separate Vref, only a combined Vref/VDD pin. I'll be powering it with 3.3V, but the power rail will be unavoidably noisy (around 100mV pk-pk noise), so I think it's a good idea to filter the power supply.

Because I don't want to greatly lower the impedance of the power supply then an RC filter is not suitable, right? So I'm thinking what I need is an LC filter. But still I'm a bit of a noob at all this kind of analog stuff and I don't really know what I'm doing, especially the maths.

I've been tinkering around simulating a low-pass filter that has a cut-off frequency of about 50 kHz with 10 uH inductor and 1uF cap, but it also seems to self-oscillate around that frequency, amplifying the noise greater than the input. If I add 10 ohms series resistance (i.e. turning it into RLC), it's fine. Should I be adding the DCR of the inductor as 'R' to the simulation? Most 10 uH inductors in 0805 package (what I plan to use) seem to have a DCR spec of 1.15 ohms. Or should I not be too concerned about needing to add 10 ohms, as the ADC only consumes about 550 uA worst case (according to datasheet)?

Offline strawberry

• Super Contributor
Re: LC filtering for combined Vref/VDD of ADC
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2024, 09:59:43 pm »
separate linear regulator may help to reduce ripple up to some ~1MHz
above 1MHz ferrite bead ,
 inductor saturation current and parasitic capacitance will limit filtering effect

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2024, 07:39:07 pm »
I don't have any higher-voltage rails available from which to run a linear regulator. The noisy 3.3V is all I've got.