Author Topic: Lithium-Ion Cells Charger Using Dead Laptop Batteries ...  (Read 7965 times)

Offline battery13vTopic starter

• Contributor
Lithium-Ion Cells Charger Using Dead Laptop Batteries ...
« on: May 09, 2016, 03:11:21 pm »

So Hi everyone ... i want to make a lithium-ion charger using the laptop batteries circuit boards ... but i searched the internet and i did'nt find any information cocerning this porject ... i'm a beginner and most the ICs in the circuit board don't have Datasheets in the Internet so i want to know :
1- How a laptop charge the battery in details please ... how much voltage enter in the circuit board ?
2- How the circuit board charge this cells and how could i control it's charging ... like if i want to charge just 2 cells or 16 cells you see !!
and Thx A lot for your help !?

Offline mikerj

• Super Contributor
Re: Lithium-Ion Cells Charger Using Dead Laptop Batteries ...
« Reply #1 on: May 09, 2016, 05:56:56 pm »
Those are protection circuits that are fitted inside laptop battery pack.  They are responsible for preventing the cells being exposed to damaging voltage levels (under and over-charging) and also monitor battery capacity for the battery "gas gauge".  They are not responsible for actually charging the battery (i.e. providing the the constant current/constant voltage phases) there will be a circuit within the laptop itself that does this.

The following users thanked this post: sjd.aliyan, battery13v

Offline sjd.aliyan

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2016, 06:29:40 pm »

So Hi everyone ... i want to make a lithium-ion charger using the laptop batteries circuit boards ... but i searched the internet and i did'nt find any information cocerning this porject ... i'm a beginner and most the ICs in the circuit board don't have Datasheets in the Internet so i want to know :
1- How a laptop charge the battery in details please ... how much voltage enter in the circuit board ?