Author Topic: LM7805 Backfeed Protection  (Read 1746 times)

Offline NateT94Topic starter

LM7805 Backfeed Protection
« on: February 19, 2021, 11:16:06 am »
Hi,
I am a beginner in circuit design and had a question about back-feed protection for an LM7805 voltage regulator.
The circuit I am designing contains multiple IC's and an Arduino that are all powered from a 5-volt rail that comes from an LM7805.
I would also like to add a USB connection so that I can program the Arduino. The 7805 will not be supplying power while the USB cable is attached, the 5-volt rail will be powered through the USB cable.

My question is, what is the best method for protecting the LM7805 from back feed voltage when the 5v rail is being powered over the USB cable.

My first thought was to simply put a diode on the 7805's output, but that would drop the regulated voltage so it's not optimal.

Thanks.

Offline Zero999

• Super Contributor
Re: LM7805 Backfeed Protection
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2021, 11:18:03 am »
Put a diode between the LM7805's output and input.

« Reply #2 on: February 19, 2021, 11:23:52 am »
The 7805 would normally be powered by a 12v wall wart, however, if the 12V supply is disconnected while the USB is connected, then where exactly would the diode be directing the voltage?

I don't really understand how that would protect it.

Offline bobbydazzler

• Regular Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 19, 2021, 12:59:06 pm »
I'm not sure the diode's needed unless you're running high output voltage(which 5v isn't) and a 10uf+ output capacitor.  Not sure if that recommendation extends to external 5v power while the 7805 is still connected but off though.

Offline ledtester

• Super Contributor
« Reply #4 on: February 19, 2021, 01:04:45 pm »
The 7805 would normally be powered by a 12v wall wart, however, if the 12V supply is disconnected while the USB is connected, then where exactly would the diode be directing the voltage?