Author Topic: MOSFET linear regulator circuit  (Read 69230 times)

Offline salbayeng

• Frequent Contributor
Re: MOSFET linear regulator circuit
« Reply #50 on: December 05, 2016, 07:47:33 am »
Hi
You put the zener D3 in the wrong place. |O

Offline void_error

• Frequent Contributor
  • I can transistor...
« Reply #51 on: December 05, 2016, 09:27:31 am »
Hi
You put the zener D3 in the wrong place. |O
I should add that its value is probably too high.
Trust me, I'm NOT an engineer.

Offline VEGETATopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • I am the cult of personality
    • Thundertronics
« Reply #52 on: December 05, 2016, 12:16:10 pm »
oops! maybe you are right! where should I put it? plus it is 20v which is maximum vds allowed.

You mean I should put it directly from G to S so it won't affect the discharge 1k resistor?

What about the small oscillation when changing voltage ?

Online Kleinstein

• Super Contributor
« Reply #53 on: December 05, 2016, 05:21:32 pm »
The changed MOSFET BSZ100N06LS3 is slightly better, but still not good enough. The SOA curve shown about 0.5 A at 20 V.  This is with very good cooling - so real life limits will be a little lower.
There is not much use in looking at those switching Fets. For a 50 W worst case loss something like TO220 is about the minimum size. I would even prefer a larger size (e.g. TO247 / TO218) as cooling is easier than.  The R_on is not critical - it is more that fets with a low R_on are often not that good for linear operation. So even if an IRFP250 is $1 more expensive you might safe this on the heat sink.

After fast load changes some ringing (decaying oscillation) is normal at some loads. However there should be no sustained oscillation, even if small in amplitude.

• Super Contributor
    • Thundertronics
« Reply #54 on: December 06, 2016, 12:47:14 am »