Author Topic: Motorcycle dash button failed  (Read 3098 times)

Offline VariousTopic starter

• Contributor
Motorcycle dash button failed
« on: November 10, 2019, 07:30:07 pm »
Hi,

I am new to electronics, so please excuse any errors and feel free to point me in the right direction!

I have a 7 year old motorcycle with an electronic (LCD?) speedometer and buttons for switching between displays, but one button has stopped working. This is a known failure for this dash but it seems that no owners have been able to fix the problem and manufacturer replacements also fail. I am trying to understand the failure and then see whether a repair can be made, the part is very expensive to replace!

There is a theory among some owners that UK bikes suffer the failure more than American bikes, maybe the problem is associated with climate and therefore corrosion?
I have removed the dash from the bike and removed the workings from the outer casing for inspection.
I carried out a continuity test on the switch to see whether it works, and it seems OK.
I can see what looks like corrosion on the PCB trace, but I would like any feedback on whether this looks like the problem.

The PCB is printed with 'NS 06901'.

I will try to attach some photos to show you what I can see.

So...
Do you agree the problem seems to be corrosion of the PCB trace?
Is it realistic to make a repair to the trace?
To get access to the trace, I think I need to remove the PCD display, but this seems to mean removing the solder for all of the pins (see photo), am I correct?

Thanks

Matt

Offline ataradov

• Super Contributor
    • Personal site
Re: Motorcycle dash button failed
« Reply #1 on: November 10, 2019, 07:59:30 pm »
It is corrosion, and the repair is very possible. But it looks like the corrosion is around something that was not soldered before. Where is the actual button? Where do those holes go to?
Alex

• Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 10, 2019, 08:10:54 pm »