Author Topic: Used Analog Scopes - Which one for a newbie?  (Read 6007 times)

Offline ckathemanTopic starter

Used Analog Scopes - Which one for a newbie?
« on: July 31, 2012, 02:39:04 pm »
Hello,

I am new to electronics, and since I am an experienced C/C++/C# programmer, I decided to wade my way into the world of electronics via microcontrollers and then on to more sophisticated stuff once I learn more.  Right now I am in the process of stocking up on the equipment I will need.  I have a pretty low budget and was looking towards a used analog scope on the advice of some of the videos on this blog.

Since I am serious about this, I would like to get a reasonably decent used analog scope to start (I would rather not start out frustrated on dodgy equipment), but I am having trouble figuring out what brand/price range is the best.  There are ton of used benchtop 100Mhz Tektronix scopes on Ebay, etc... for less than $200, but i'm not sure what a good model number/feature set would be?

Any advice appreciated!

Thanks!
Chris...

Offline KTP

• Frequent Contributor
Re: Used Analog Scopes - Which one for a newbie?
« Reply #1 on: July 31, 2012, 02:43:15 pm »
Save up $100 more and get a Rigol 50mhz scope and mod it to 100mhz.  (or maybe there are other digital scopes at that $300 price now...not sure).  If you are doing a lot of digital and microcontroller work, the digital scope will be VERY usefull examining data lines (you can trigger off the micro clock and display two data lines for timing and such).

I have recently been playing again with my Rigol scope after getting an Agilent much more expensive model, and continue to be suprised at how decent a scope it is for $300.

Offline grumpydoc

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: July 31, 2012, 03:02:11 pm »
Are the Rigol's properly down to $300 - i.e you can buy one inclusive of any appropriate sales tax plus delivery and only spend $300?

They're about £280 (=$450) in the UK.

Offline JuiceKing

• Regular Contributor