Author Topic: Op Amp (uA741CN) Help  (Read 35095 times)

Offline MechatrommerTopic starter

• Super Contributor
  • reassessing directives...
Op Amp (uA741CN) Help
« on: April 21, 2011, 12:19:37 am »
well its a shame but i have to put it here. i never actually played with an op amp. last night i tried, but a simple thing is much of a discouraging. i tried closely by the book, but its not what i'm getting. Here's an example of a simple non inverting amp that i tried...

R1=100, R2=100, V+=3.3V, V-=0V, the signal that goes into +input is from my FG.
the gain should be (1+R1/R2) = 2, should be output = 2 * input right?

this is what i'm getting (yellow=signal on non inverting input, blue is the op amp output)...
top: 0 (no) signal from input, note the output is 0.9V offsetted ???
bottom: input of sine wave, the output? WTF?!
pls help noob here :(

ps: i tried
R1=10M, R2=1K, the gain should be 10,001, even a slight voltage difference in the input should show up in output right?
but none, all i get is some random distorted noise.
« Last Edit: April 21, 2011, 12:23:27 am by Mechatrommer »
Nature: Evolution and the Illusion of Randomness (Stephen L. Talbott): Its now indisputable that... organisms “expertise” contextualizes its genome, and its nonsense to say that these powers are under the control of the genome being contextualized - Barbara McClintock

Offline Afrotechmods

• Supporter
    • Afrotech
Re: Op Amp (uA741CN) Help
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2011, 12:35:58 am »
You might want to power it up with more than 3.3V, and use a dual rail power supply if you want to use that exact circuit. Keep in mind that the 741 is one of the most outdated POS op amps in existence. Also R1 and R2 of 100 ohms is a bit low - try 1k and 1k.
And with R1=10M, R2=1K you would be attenuating the signal, not amplifying it. You've got the resistors in the gain equation backwards. Even if you did reverse them a gain of 10k is too much - try to keep it around 10 or 20 to start with.