Author Topic: Plasma Cutter Repair  (Read 2292 times)

Offline zupta82Topic starter

• Regular Contributor
Plasma Cutter Repair
« on: November 30, 2020, 02:17:51 am »

Hello everyone, I am trying to repair a Thermadyne Pakmaster 25 plasma cutter. When I try to crank up the current to cut thicker metals the plasma arc extinguishes, also at lower current settings the unit does not have the power it used to have. I am thinking the problem might be somewhere in the power Mosfet stages. I don't have a curve tracer or high voltage or high current probes to possibly poke around with my oscilloscope. I am kind of rusty in my electronics knowledge, I am an applied electrical engineer but don't work with much in electronics in my current job . I never could get the grasp of linear electronics theory. I have a TDS 420 oscilloscope and a MeterMan true RMS meter. I guess there is a high voltage capacitive discharge circuit portion that drives the cutting torch nozzle. Also I guess these pieces of equipment work off a really high peak inrush current to start a pilot arc that jumps to the piece of metal along with the use of compressed air. I would greatly appreciate some help. Here is an attached manual with a schematic

Offline wizard69

• Super Contributor
Re: Plasma Cutter Repair
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2020, 07:51:55 am »
Don’t kill yourself, there are high voltages and currents in these machines!   

I’ve never repaired one so I can’t offer a lot of help however I believe that start is accomplished via a high frequency impressed on the high current DC.   I could be wrong about that as I’m actually thinking TIG here.   

As for breaking down under load that can be almost anything from a transistor to a loose connection.  It is always best to start with visual inspection for  loose stuff, bad solder joints and etc. 

Offline Gregg

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: November 30, 2020, 05:57:08 pm »