Author Topic: Powering DC Motor from Solar panel  (Read 780 times)

Offline mensbufoTopic starter

Powering DC Motor from Solar panel
« on: May 14, 2024, 12:54:56 pm »
Hello, everyone! Sorry if I say something silly, I am just a beginner :'(
I have a school project where we need to build solar-powered vehicles (a boat in my case). The rules are as follows: No supercapacitors or batteries; the boat can only charge for the first 30 seconds of the match. From what I could find at home, I gathered 4 solar panels, each rated for around 1-2W, with a voltage ranges around 4-5V. What I need to do now is select a DC motor, but the bigger question is whether it is worth overengineering something like a simple MPPT charge controller to charge some large capacitors, or something similar that will stabilize and control the motor's power from the solar panel? If possible, can you recommend some simple solutions or ideas of what I should add on top of just the bare motor/solar panel setup? And maybe even add some super simple radio control to turn left/right, on/off motor, in case if the boat will try to change its course, but this is additional and will depend on how well the boat will float.
Thank you for your answer! :D

Offline BeBuLamar

• Super Contributor
Re: Powering DC Motor from Solar panel
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2024, 01:29:25 pm »
Do you know the lighting condition at the race?

« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2024, 03:03:54 pm »
Yes, solar panels will gain power from sun. Produced power will depend on weather, but of course, in case of bad weather, the race will be rescheduled to a sunnier day.

Online Kim Christensen

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2024, 03:12:29 pm »
A regular capacitor in parallel with the solar panels will help a lot. It'll provide the motor start current which will be much higher than it's running current.

The following users thanked this post: mensbufo

Offline Algoma

• Frequent Contributor
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2024, 03:42:03 pm »