Author Topic: Resistor PCB spacing  (Read 14808 times)

Offline iamnothimTopic starter

• Regular Contributor
  • Hello
Resistor PCB spacing
« on: March 01, 2013, 10:53:32 pm »
Hello,

I'm new to electronics but I'm learning a lot.  I'm attempting to recreate a tester for 9 pin dual triode valves.  I've purchased a low end B&K model 606 and ripped it apart.
I am wanting to streamline it down to dual triode valves only.   Beyond the emissions meter, I want to provide provide test taps for my oscilloscope (Rigol DS1052E) and Fluke 88V meter.  To date I've gone through the schematic, and ordered many components.  Some of them are actually correct. :palm:

I've got some great docs on Valve technology and many mfg. specifications for the valve types I wish to test.  E188CC, ECC88, PCC88, etc.  I've been able to take the anode/grid curves from the mfg.'s .pdf spec sheet and digitize them thus capturing their coordinates.  My hope is to take sweeps from actual valves and overlay them on top of the manufacturers original specifications, showing how close a valve is to the original spec.  I'm a very long way from there, but I have the 50 year old sweeps digitized.

Being a Mac guy, I'm sitting in the back of the bus for scientific software.  That said I've found a great implementation of LTspice for the Mac.  That is a tremendous help in learning about circuits.  I've also found "Osmond" for laying out a PCB board.  I'm figuring that one out.

My question is pretty elementary.  I've taken calipers and measured the wire diameter, body diameter, and body length, in mm of my resistors and Caps.

When laying out a PCB what is the value of what I'll call the "wire spread"?   The length on adds to the body length for bending the thru-hole leads down?   I need to enter this value into Osmond for each components.  A similar question I have is the wire diameter "fudge factor"?