Author Topic: RF Transformer  (Read 2171 times)

Offline NivagSwerdnaTopic starter

• Super Contributor
RF Transformer
« on: May 26, 2016, 10:19:56 pm »
I bought some of these... eBay auction: #251401324712

Minicircuits MCL T1-1T RF Transformer 200MHz 250mW 1:1 Centre-tapped

I have never used anything like this before...   I assumed it was https://www.minicircuits.com/pdfs/T1-1T-KK81.pdf

Now the datasheet says the impedance is 50 Ohms...

But when I measure between Pins 1 and 3 or 4 and 6 I get 0.5 Ohm, almost a dead short....

Am I missing the difference between resistance to impedance?  Or have I actually got something that isn't 50 Ohms.

Thanks in advance

Offline T3sl4co1l

• Super Contributor
  • Expert, Analog Electronics, PCB Layout, EMC
    • Seven Transistor Labs
Re: RF Transformer
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2016, 04:20:24 am »
A couple definitions:

1. System Impedance

The source generator can be modeled as an ideal voltage source in series with 50 ohms (Thevenin equivalent).  There is also a 50 ohm termination or load, connected to the other side of the transformer.

Almost exclusively, RF measurements are done with this configuration.  It's easiest if everything is measured by the same standard; 50 ohms happens to be the accepted standard for pretty much all electronic test gear.

2. Insertion Loss

If you measure a 50 ohm voltage source, with no load (open circuit), you will read 2*Vo, and whatever frequency or waveform it's producing (say if you measure with a high impedance oscilloscope).  When the source is connected to a termination resistor, you get a voltage divider.  Two 50 ohm resistors are in series, current flows, and the voltage on the middle is Vo.  If the load were a short circuit, I = 2*Vo / (50 ohm) would flow instead, and no voltage would be on the load (V = I*R, but R = 0).

If you break the circuit between source and termination, and connect the transformer across the open terminals, you have inserted it in the system.