Author Topic: Running Device While Charging Battery  (Read 965 times)

Offline Max HoldcroftTopic starter

• Contributor
Running Device While Charging Battery
« on: May 14, 2024, 01:32:04 am »
Hey All,

I'm very new to PCB design so this is probably a very easy question, but I'm making a small piece of wearable tech with a battery, so to save space I've moved the battery charging module, a TP4056, into the charger itself. I'm going to use contact charging to charge the device, but I've connected the charge_in pin to the positive battery pin, and I'm not sure how the charging module is going to take the device running while it's plugged in. Is this even an issue I should be worried about? Is the easiest fix just to shut off the device while charging? I've included a screenshot of my current schematic. Thank you all for your help!

Max  :)

Offline Kim Christensen

• Super Contributor
Re: Running Device While Charging Battery
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2024, 02:17:16 am »
First off, your schematic makes no sense with C1 and C2 in series with the DC supply...

The TP4056 will not shut off when the battery is full if the circuit is drawing too much current. It could fool the TP4056 into thinking that the battery was still accepting charge current, when in reality it's the load drawing the current. This could cause the charger to float the battery at 4.2V for an extended period of time which will damage it.

Offline radiolistener

• Super Contributor
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2024, 02:43:00 am »
This is a bad idea to discharge battery during charge process, because it makes impossible proper battery charge. Proper UPS should disconnect load from battery during charge. It can be done with using mosfet switches. When input voltage is present it switch load to input voltage and disconnect from battery. When input voltage disappears, it switch load from input voltage to the battery. In that way battery charge process didn't affected with load and extends battery life.

Offline xvr