Author Topic: Sallen Key Filters for Audio EQ  (Read 1811 times)

Offline ConorK2567Topic starter

Sallen Key Filters for Audio EQ
« on: December 18, 2019, 05:38:10 pm »
Hi Guys,

I'm going to try make some sallen key filters for a university project with the hopes of making an EQ unit. I'm studying music technology and am a complete beginner with electronics so I have a few (stupid) questions.

1) Has anyone got any decent sources about the construction of/working with Sallen key filters that they would recommend?

2) I have chosen some component values in the link below to get a desired cutoff and Q. In your experience will these values work or should I aim for different values?
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1lN3tLxwtOUL513ik1I3b4O2mQuzJMyJDHgwNR45Xji4/edit?usp=sharing

3) If I want to add a control for the frequency is that as simple as using a potentiometer for the resistors in the circuit?

4) When I have been looking at components I have seen things like 'power rating' (on pots) and "voltage rating" (on capacitors). What values should I be looking at for those in an audio circuit and how do I pick the correct one.

Thank you to anyone who reads this and a big thank you to anyone who replies

C

Offline schmitt trigger

• Super Contributor
Re: Sallen Key Filters for Audio EQ
« Reply #1 on: December 18, 2019, 06:04:07 pm »
Analog Devices has many excellent opamp filter design tutorials.

https://wiki.analog.com/university/courses/tutorials/index#active_filters

To your question #3, you want to make a tunable bandpass filter? That is not as simple, and I don't think that Sallen Key is the correct topology.
Perhaps the better option would be a clock tunable (switched capacitor) device like the classic MF10

The following users thanked this post: ConorK2567

Offline oPossum

• Super Contributor
  • Very dangerous - may attack at any time
« Reply #2 on: December 18, 2019, 07:45:26 pm »