Author Topic: Selecting Mictocontroller for Ethernet Application  (Read 1208 times)

Offline aju11Topic starter

• Contributor
Selecting Mictocontroller for Ethernet Application
« on: February 11, 2019, 06:06:42 am »
Hello everyone,

I am new to Ethernet.

I want to select a micro-controller for 10base-T/100base-TX, MII/RMII Ethernet application.

1. Is there any guideline available for selecting a micro-controller?
2. Which parameters should I focus on  to compare the micro-controllers from several manufacturers (ST, TI etc.)?
3. Does anyone have a  excel sheet comparison?

Thank you
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 06:13:22 am by aju11 »

Offline Jeroen3

• Super Contributor
  • Embedded Engineer
    • jeroen3.nl
Re: Selecting Mictocontroller for Ethernet Application
« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2019, 06:41:55 am »
Only ethernet, or also internet? For the second, get an small linux SBC or SOC. Much much easier software and future maintainability.

Offline kripton2035

• Super Contributor
    • kripton2035 schematics repository
« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2019, 07:00:29 am »
the cheapest would be an arduino and a wiznet shield on it (or sometimes called etherduino)
I also like the pic 18f6xj6x family that connect directly to ethernet. but the dev boards and softwares for it a more expensive.
you should also tell us about the application, as it may require some fast calculations ?
or is it "just" about IOT and switching things remotely ?
« Last Edit: February 11, 2019, 07:03:28 am by kripton2035 »

Offline rstofer

• Super Contributor
« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2019, 07:06:21 am »
Ethernet is pretty useless without the rest of the TCP/IP stack so when shopping around, look to see if the vendor has the entire protocol stack- free, of course!

There are a lot of ports of lwIP (Lightweight IP) and it's a pretty decent stack.

Actually, the Raspberry Pi is probably the way to go.  It has the entire Linux networking stack.