Author Topic: A software engineer's failed attempts at creating a spot welder  (Read 4212 times)

Offline mehmedbasicTopic starter

Hey everyone

I'm a software engineer by trade and have had electronic engineering as a hobby for a couple of years. Most of the stuff I've worked with has been low voltage, low amps and very digital. This project is a little outside of my comfort zone and I need a little help understanding what went wrong.

I've been attempting to build me a cheap spot welder for 18650 cells to be able to build battery packs for my power tools and ebike. I'm using a car battery as a current source, 470 CCA. It's fused with a 300A fuse. All tests were conducted welding nickel to steel plates (not batteries) wearing safety gloves and glasses in a well-ventilated workshop with a fire extinguisher at hand. The timing is controlled by an Arduino and the timing control has been verified using an oscilloscope.

Attempt 1)
Initially I tried controlling with a starter relay from a car driven by an ULN2003. This worked pretty nice for short pulses but at ~25ms or more the current overwhelmed the relay and it jammed in the open state resulting in a runaway weld. The couple of long pulses in the second-range resulted in very melted nickel and funnily enough not a broken fuse. The relay was not reliable after this.

My hypothesis is that it either sparked internally or the magnetic field generated by the couple of 100 amps held the relay contacts in the open state. Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

Attempt 2)
Next attempt was using 10x FQP30N06L N-channel MOSFETs  (from AliExpress)  in parallel mounted to a not-completely-flat thin sheet of copper-plated aluminum using steel nuts. The electrode was connected to the the aforementioned aluminum plate.

The gates were all wired to each other and pulled down with 10k.
The gates were driven directly by the Arduino at 5v with a 680 ohm resistor in series.