Author Topic: Soldering station for a Newbie  (Read 18063 times)

Offline kuemmelTopic starter

Soldering station for a Newbie
« on: June 03, 2017, 08:53:54 am »
Hi,

About me: I'm 20 years old and I am a Sysadmin from Germany. Now i would like to learn something about electronics. For that i would like to buy a soldering station for first time. Now I need a purchase recommendation from you guys!  :)

In German forums you can read often brands like Weller and Ersa, because most would say "it's good german quality". According to my experience, there is no more the good old quality some people know from us. That is why I like to become some recommendations from the U. S. and other countrys of the world.

If anyone would ask me, which country has the best quality in products, I would say its the USA. For example see Cisco, Apple, Google and so on..

I read some soldering station recommendations from this forum and most people mention Hakko. In Germany it's not very well known.
I found this station from a German Reseller:
https://tbk-onlineshop.de/produkt/hakko-fx-888d-16-by/

Is it a good station to learn soldering for beginners? What do you mean? Important is my durability and many spare parts, also in the future.

regards,
kuemmel

Offline lacek

• Regular Contributor
Re: Soldering station for a Newbie
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2017, 08:57:18 am »
I bought Xytronic LF1600 being exactly in your position (I was was student of a related field, that has never ever soldered anything in life and wanted to play with electronics). I bought that new for approximately 60 euro.
This is a "good enough brand" - you can buy iron tips, it should not get broken, nor damage the user.

In German forums you can read often brands like Weller and Ersa, because most would say "it's good german quality". According to my experience, there is no more the good old quality some people know from us. That is why I like to become some recommendations from the U. S. and other countrys of the world.