Author Topic: STM32 based oscilloscope, probe circuit  (Read 8791 times)

Offline inshadeTopic starter

STM32 based oscilloscope, probe circuit
« on: April 05, 2016, 01:19:02 pm »
Hi!

I'm making a microcontroller based oscilloscope (216MHz ARM Cortex-M7 on board) for university project. I'd like to have input resistance ~1Mohm and able to sample signals up to 20MHz (tell me if I'm wrong - I should sample at the frequency at least 40MHz). I have 12-bit ADC, at the Vdd of 3.6V and Vdd - Vref < 1.2 (that's all I could find: https://scr.hu/Apyn27 ).

Based on what I've found I'm trying to make some circuit for oscilloscope probe. I've chosen OPA2604AP since it can handle signal frequencies up to 20MHz. Here's what I've done so far:
https://scr.hu/v1A3jR

Am I going in a proper way? I mean opamps are slow, a bit expensive, but I can manage to get a bit simpler circuit. It's my first project that should handle such high frequencies and I don't know how to deal with it  ??? So will this even work? Or is there a better solution?

Offline bktemp

• Super Contributor
Re: STM32 based oscilloscope, probe circuit
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2016, 01:31:54 pm »
It will not work: The OPA2604 needs at least 9V supply voltage and is designed for audio applications. Unless you have a supply voltage +/-9V or higher available, better use a rail to rail opamp.
The internal ADC can not do 40MS/s, you need an external one. I have not tried it, but it should be possible to read the ADC data at up to 54MS/s into memory using the DCMI.
At 20MHz a simple resistive voltage divider does not work as expected, because together with the opamp input capacitance it will form a low pass filter. This needs to be compensated.

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2016, 03:59:50 pm »